razr maxx hd or gs3

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX HD' started by spideyx24, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. jamjr74

    jamjr74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yes I know they are not the same phone but they are very similar! Hd has better screen and processor I know but still similar. HD Maxx is a great phone no doubt but just stating my opinion. Maxx has better build quality and is a more solid device however it is heavier which is a pro or con depending on the user. S3 has bigger screen and 2gb or ram vs the 1gb of ram on the HD. Both have expandable memory sd slots (up to 32gb for Maxx and 64gb for s3). S3 has the better camera hands down. Both phone have a 1.5 ghz dual core processor. You can't go wrong with either phone!!!! Go to the store and get the feel for them, whatever one suits your style better is the way to go!!!
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    The S3 and Maxx HD have the same S4 processor and adreno 225 GPU. The GS3 has twice the RAM, so you could argue it has better internals overall.

    The screen on the Maxx HD definitely gets brighter and dimmer - has a wider range. With regard to it being "better", well that's subjective - the colors tend to look a little different on each.
     
  3. MacLeod

    MacLeod Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Ratings:
    +5
    Really? I thought the GS3 had the same CPU as the OG Maxx. I knew the GS3 has 1GB more RAM which is very important especially as websites and apps get more demanding but I thought it had a slower clocked previous generation proc as opposed to the 1.5 GHz newer chip in the Moto. I did a quick Google (I'm at work) but all that ever pops up is the quad core versions for some reason. I know the OG Maxx has the older proc so maybe I'm just getting the two mixed up.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note II using Tapatalk 2.
     
  4. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    The International GS3's are all quad core with 1gb RAM, US GS3's are all dual core 1.5 S4 with 2gb of RAM - why? I have no idea... but I don't mind honestly, I think that 2gb of RAM will come in more handy than a quad core processor, especially when the S4 is great already. In 1+ year, maybe having the quad core will be more beneficial, but for now I'll take the RAM.
     
  5. MacLeod

    MacLeod Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Ratings:
    +5
    Totally agree. I'm an avid PC builder/gamer/overclocker and know how important enough RAM is. I'd rather have a dual core proc and 2GB of RAM than a quad and 1GB. Running out of RAM will cause lockups, shutdowns, slowdowns and all kinds of other nasty annoying stuff. Obviously it's best to have both like my beloved Note 2 but if I had to choose I'll take the RAM.

    Well since I was wrong about the GS3's CPU, I'll change y recommendation and say it should be the choice. The Maxx still has the better battery but the GS3 has a removable battery and you can buy a 4100 mha battery for it.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note II using Tapatalk 2.
     
  6. tech_head

    tech_head Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Ratings:
    +255
    You are unlikely to need more than 1GB of RAM since there are no applications that are 1GB large.
    1GB vs 2GB is sort of academic.

    Buy the phone you like.
    Either is a good phone with basically the same internals.
    Neither will be faster on synthetic benchmarks.
     
  7. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    I agree. I like the Razr Maxx HD ok. The ONLY issue with me is an ongoing ear piece issue where it distorts at mid volume. Have had over 8 of them all do it within a few days.

    But I have over 325 APPS. So My average memory in RAM is usually 100-200 MBs left after all the apps are running. Less with some intensive apps. But I'd MUCH rather have more RAM than a higher core processor. Example as of right now I have 732 MB used and 102 MB free.
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    Well it probably helps if you have something massive built into the system... like, say, Touchwiz in all it's glory. :) That UI hogs a LOT...
     
  9. MacLeod

    MacLeod Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Ratings:
    +5
    You don't really "need" screen more than 1GB now but since you're stuck with the phone for 2 years, it'll be nice to have. Websites are getting increasingly more demanding with all their flash animation and such and apps will become more demanding as time goes on as well. Not saying 2GB will be a necessity in 2 years but it would be nice to have just in case.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note II using Tapatalk 2.
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    ICS was withheld from devices for RAM reasons... so having 2gb of RAM can definitely help future-proof.
     
  11. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    I agree 100%. Honestly I think Motorola undersold the RAM issue in the HD for more internal storage. Which doesn't make since because of the expandable memory slot. I find myself continually closing apps using the app switcher (swiping the apps closed) to gain memory.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx HD using Droid Forums
     
  12. Hodor

    Hodor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Ratings:
    +45
    Almost every one here is a power user and by the time comes that you REALLY need 2 gig of ram we will be all drooling over some other phone. Just like PC's, manufacturers tend to match hardware to the currently available operating systems. 1 gig is fine as long as you use your head and be careful with what apps you use (and REALLY need, as opposed to just WANT).

    To me, what's key is battery life, and this phone has ALL others beat hands down. This thing is a BEAST!! I am a heavy user and I have NEVER had a phone before this one that I didn't have to charge every day. My confidence level regarding cell phones in general has vastly increased because of this phone. For once I am not worried when I go to use it to make a call about being near a charging source. To me it is still a phone, that's it's primary use, and this phone is EXCEPTIONAL!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page
droid razr hd vs galaxy s3
,

droid razr maxx hd vs galaxy s3

,
droid razr maxx hd vs samsung galaxy s3
,
gs3 or razr maxx hd
,

gs3 vs razr maxx hd

,
razr maxx hd vs galaxy s3
,
razr maxx hd vs gs3
,

s3 vs razr maxx hd

,
samsung galaxy s3 vs droid razr maxx hd
,
samsung galaxy s3 vs razr maxx hd