Razr Maxx Drops WIFI after 30 min of NO activity

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by DaK0620, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have had my Maxx for less than three days and have noticed this quirk about the phone. The house wifi drops after 30 min of activity. I have downloaded and activated the connectivities patch that has been suggested in another thread, issue still there. When I go to the Settings screen/wi-fi, the screen states that I am connected to the house wifi. On the phone screen the wifi indicator is no longer blue, it is white/gray.

    My wife as Razr as well, non-maxx or anything else and her wifi connection is solid and doesn't drop, EVER! So the problem isn't the house wireless, it is something in the phone.

    I have done the google thing, tried the recommended solutions, no luck on any of them.

    Looking to the collective for a solution before going into the store and demanding a replacement and stepping back to the regular razr.

    DaK
  2. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Is it always exactly 30 minutes?
  3. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    I had the same problem, but after i updated to .215 the problem stopped. When you say that you "downloaded and activated the connectivity patch" are you referring to .215 update? Also, did you ever do an FDR (factory data reset)?
  4. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting about the 30 minute auto off. Would be nice if that was documented and a way to turn it off.

    How do you do the .215 update and/or the factory data reset?

    Have seen the threads on the .215 update but did not read through them. Hopefully a software inept person can do the update.

    Thanks for the infor on the wifi auto off, now how to make it stop.
  5. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    First off, check to see if you have the .215 update. Go to Menu> System settings> About phone. Look at the number that is listed under "System version" and see if there is a .215 or .211 listed in the middle of the number. If it's .215, then you already have it, if it's .211 then you need to update. If so, then reply and i will post the instructions for you (it's not difficult).
    To do FDR, you need to go to Menu> System settings> Privacy and select "factory data reset" (you will not lose any photos and you can re-download your apps from google play). However, you may want to backup your contacts. Only do the FDR once you confirm you have the .215 update though.
  6. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    ...one other thing to check, is to make sure that your phone is not set to disconnect wifi once your phone goes to sleep. Do this by going to Menu> System settings> wifi> menu> advanced. Check to see that "keep wifi on during sleep" is set to "always." Also, did you ever reset your router? Sometimes this helps.
  7. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have .211 and for the wifi settings I don't see and advanced button while in that menu, just an ON/OFF slider.
  8. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    You need to "tap" where it says "wi-fi", then tap your menu button at the bottom of the phone, then select "advanced."
  9. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  10. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get
    Notify me
    Open network
    Secure Network
    Peer to peer
    Keep wifi on during sleep (this is set to ALWAYS)
    MAC address
    IP address


    Am thinkin the keep wifi on set to always is good?
  11. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have the phone connected to my computer, how do I know which drive/file is the SD card?
  12. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Okay...looks like it's set to "always." I am almost certain that your problem well be fixed once you upgrade to .215 and do an FDR.
  13. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    You really don't need the phone connected to the computer. Download the file with your phone.
  14. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did that and it put in my Download folder. Do I need to move it? Then how? Sorry, very inept with this thing at this moment.
  15. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have two folders via the computer

    Motocast-nothing in it

    MOT-lots of folders, one titled Download, has the file in in it.
  16. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Disconnect your phone from the computer. Open "my files" app on your phone and look in "internal phone storage" and find the downloaded blur file. It will be in the "download" folder. Long press on it and select "move". Then back out till you see the option to select "sd card"...move the file to here.
  17. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay got it moved, going for the rest of the course.
  18. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got an E: signature verification failed, aborted as the last line on the reboot. Went ahead and rebooted from the menu, then checked the version, still .211.

    Checked the file size, something is wrong. Did the download again, much larger file, going through the process again.
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  19. DaK0620
    Offline

    DaK0620 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still giving me the sig verification failed, Installation aborted warnings.
  20. cleave
    Offline

    cleave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Did you dl the file directly from your phone?
Search tags for this page

droid razr loses wifi

,

droid razr maxx hd gray wifi

,

droid razr wifi connects but stays gray

,

droid razr wifi sleep

,
maxx droid loses wifi
,
motorola razr not staying connected to wifi
,

razr m drops wifi

,
razr maxx dropping wifi signal
,
razr maxx keepd disconnecting from wifi
,
razr maxx loses connection wifi
,

router settings to keep razr maxx connected

,

why does my wifi on my droid keeps turning gray