Razr M Antennagate?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by zbaba4, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. smuckers

    smuckers New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've also had my m for about 2 weeks.. I'm on 2-3 bars 4G at home at work its hit or miss though.. Large factory.. I'm 30 miles west of Detroit, MI and vzw is expanding Detroit area next week so hopefully gets a little better at work... But overall quite happy with the 4G coverage in my area.. Still loving the M
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +295
    Though it does seem to give up on 4G and switch to 3G a little more often than my other devices, the switch is fast and seamless, without dropping data. Based on some other evidence, I'm leaning towards some software tweaks fixing it, or at least greatly improving it.

    Make sure, if you're having issues, you report it with details over at the Moto support forums for the Razr M.

    Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. bonzomatic

    bonzomatic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problems here

    I've had my M for a couple weeks now and the only time I have had any trouble with not getting 4G was at a concert where everyone was tying up the bandwidth. I also have yet to have a missed call like I did with my Droid X.
     
  4. bryanwieg

    bryanwieg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I am researching getting a Razr M. I live in an area where there is no 4g, but I do rely on the 3g heavily.

    On the topic of a firmware update, there is a claim of a pre-release Jellybean update from Verizon and Motorola. I was wondering if anyone had tried it, and if it affected the antenna issue.

    Google, 'RAZR M firmware', or here is a link on a news article on the update:
    Android Advices: How to Update Motorola Droid Razr M with Official Jellybean 4.1.1 Firmware - Android Advices

    Thanks,
    Bryan
     
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Welcome to DF bryan! I live in a weak 3g area and I have had no problems with keeping and using 3g. In addition, yesterday I was with my family traveling over 100 miles wine tasting in boonvilles of sorts. I was the only verizon amidst a gs3 and a nexus on sprint, another Android (not sure which one) on AT&T and an iPhone on AT&T. I was the only one who could make phone calls and connect to data without fail. It was quite comical because everyone was constantly telling me they needed my phone. So, my opinion is this phone and Verizon is a pretty darn reliable combination.

    As far as the jelly bean leak, I'm not sure how possible that is. The article states that you must be rooted and I don't think the ability to root the M has been developed yet. Maybe that leak only applies to the developer M's with the unlocked bootloaders.
     
  6. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +295
    Actually mattlgroff "cheesecaked" a leaked build (not the OTA) off of Moto's servers. He had to be rooted to do that obviously, but the build will flash on a stock/retail/unrooted Razr M.

    A fastboot file was also released that will supposedly get you back to stock ICS - but I have yet to see anyone do it, myself included.

    Thanks to some instructions from Matt (mainly due to the fear of being stuck on this leaked build forever, and how to potentially avoid that), I felt more comfortable flashing the leak today, been running it since mid-afternoon.

    I intended to write up a bit more about it over in the "leak thread", but just haven't had a chance. So far, I don't see any glaring errors. JB runs great on it. It's a little smoother/snapper, not quite as drastic as the change when the Gnex hit JB, but still good.

    Leak thread here on DF (that I need to update!): http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-m/226593-do-not-try-razr-m-jelly-bean-test-build.html

    XDA thread with great info from Matt: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1934396

    XDA thread with fastboot: [Fastboot] Droid Razr M Xt907 Ice Cream Sandwich - xda-developers
     
  7. bryanwieg

    bryanwieg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent! Please share if or how it affects the signal issues, if you get a chance!
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +295
    Will do! I've been curious as well but haven't had a chance to test yet.
     
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Wow, thanks jntdroid! This is great news. I'm gonna let you be my Guinea pig but might end up getting too antsy and go ahead anyway. Super!
     
  10. wouldchip

    wouldchip New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wrapped a paper towel around the phone and it works much better.
     
  11. liftedplane

    liftedplane Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +170
    Wrap it in tinfoil and hook it up to an old TV VHF antenna

    Sent from my frozenly delicious razr maxx.
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +295
    Well I didn't get around to really testing out the radios on JB, but I can verify that you can sbf/fxz/fastboot (potato potawto!) back to the stock, "factory" state, from the current JB leak.
     
  13. wouldchip

    wouldchip New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did that. All I got was 60's re-runs!
     
  14. bryanwieg

    bryanwieg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quote From Motorola Forum
    https://forums.motorola.com/posts/9dd3df67c5?commentId=668037#668037

    There is no 4g in the outback where I live. How can I disable it to preserve battery?

    Thx,
    Bryan
     
  15. dan.dar

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just came back from VZW store. The Razr Maxx HD doesn't have the same issue as the M. When laid down both phones DBM was around -77, when picked up, the M was at -88, while the Maxx was at -79, just a 2dbm difference.
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr m problems
,
droid razr m reception issues
,
droid razr m signal fix
,

droid razr m signal issues

,
droid razr m signal problems
,
motorola razr m signal problems
,

razr m antenna

,

razr m reception

,
razr m reception issues
,
razr m signal strength