RAZR loaded ICS now its a soup sandwich

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by meotchh, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. meotchh
    Offline

    meotchh New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Title says it all.

    Since I loaded ICS:
    1. Texting became a pain again. If I want to go to a recipient & delete messages I can no longer select multiple messages to delete. It has gone back to delete one or delete all.
    2. GPS goes back-n-forth between the old voice & the new voice.
    3. GPS voice goes from normal speed voice to suuuuuppppppeeeerrrrr sllllllloooooowwww to super fast & back to normal at random intervals.
    4. Screen brightness no longer stays at a comfortable level.
    5. If the screen goes to sleep during BT operation the audio automatically adjusts to minimal level.
    6. Phone has locked up once following a phone call & I could not power it off, select anything on the screen, perform the pwr/vol dwn reset. After 70 min it decided to go to the startup splash screen for 5 minutes with the eye graphic. It finally restarted on its own after a total of 75 minutes of being frozen.
    7. Several APPS stopped working following the upgrade or uhh downgrade to ICS.


    I'm considering replacing the phone with a couple cans & some string. Guess I'll have to brush up on my morse code as well for text. This thing is a piece of garbage now. Thank you VZW & MMI!:angry:
  2. Yngwie77
    Offline

    Yngwie77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How about flash not working...that's the big one for me...thought a fix would come....i guess not

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  3. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When ics came along,some of my apps didnt wrk either anymore..buttt,u can try to do the 215 leak if u havent already @mattyp's classroom topic(very easy)...after i did the leak,my apps wrked agian..
    3 people like this.
  4. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I have to say that i did not have any of the problems mentioned here so far. Some problems I don't have because I have never liked stock apps for things like text or email... they are always lacking so maybe I would have noticed some of those changes if I used stock. I also did not notice much difference between .211 and .215 but my .211 was working great so I am not sure where it could've improved much. Most have seen a huge improvement on .215 though.

    The one thing I can say though is that it really is necessary to do a factory data reset. Doing an FDR has solved the problems people were having with ICS. Even if you are considering going to .215, I would highly recommend doing an FDR. Since my og droid going from all the upgrades then finally rooting and romming, I knew that doing an fdr was necessary so I never question it. I can't imagine putting vista on top of xp or windows 7 on top of vista. I did the following guide to help make doing an FDR a little more routine (because I think when upgrading, rooting and romming it should be routine). see:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-help/219101-getting-most-success-upgrading-ics-gb.html
    1 person likes this.
  5. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I gotta agree with tismydroid..a fdr did a well effin job on my phone,especially after 215...big improvement, i got no complaints what so ever..all tho i am kinna iffy with rooting,nvr tryed,lol,but definitely will try out in the future tho..my only complaint,is with flash but thats another story lol..fdr/215 will improve ur sh*t..no lie lol
    2 people like this.
  6. Yngwie77
    Offline

    Yngwie77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How about the flash problem....does it work for u guys...i did a fdr and it solved everything but the flash problem

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  7. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That topic is all over the forums.. its a thing with adobe not wanting to saport sndroid anymore.too keep it short,google it n ull find out"flash not saporting ics 4.0" ..dnt panic,jst knoe ur not the only one with that issue. I even called Motorola, its a khown problem..

    DROIDRAZR ICS215
  8. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Btw.check out flashplayer in the playstore.select more(comments) then check "only for this device"..ull see lol..whatever the bug is,they needa get there head out [of dark places] n fixit .its either flash or moto"s fault.trust,i feel ur pain,its the only reason why i even got this phone in the first place,what a waste of $300/4 down the drain.smh.i couldve used it for fire n then some lmao

    DROIDRAZR ICS215
  9. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have had the same experience with .215 if anything i had less problems with .211. ICS has worked great for me! I would never return to a previous OS. But i agree that an FDR is essential. I've read to many people on this site where the FDR improved their experience from a nightmare to something great.
    1 person likes this.
  10. GPYoung
    Offline

    GPYoung New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thomasville, Ga
    Tis,
    What app are you using for text? I am not a fan of the new ICS stock text platform either.....it drives me batty that one can no longer select and delete multiple texts.....

    Thanks,
    Geoff
  11. GoBears
    Offline

    GoBears New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Handcent. Tried all the popular ones and chose it as my sms/mms program of choice. Give it a try, you'll love it.
  12. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I use Go SMS. It is very similar to handcent and just as popular. Probably the only reason I use Go SMS over handcent is because early on it was the one that did everything I needed so I stuck with it. It could've very easily been the other way around and I would've found myself just as happy with handcent. Take a look at both of them in play store and go for which one appeals to you most. I think you would be very happy with either one of them.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  13. Caric
    Offline

    Caric New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
  14. Caric
    Offline

    Caric New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    "You can still chose multiple texts to delete in ICS. Just press and hold the text you want to delete first, at the top of the screen you will see "one message selected", then just start tapping on the other texts that you want to delete. Once all are chosen, tap on the trash can in the top right corner. Has been working for me."
  15. GPYoung
    Offline

    GPYoung New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thomasville, Ga
    I love go sms.... you can customize nearly everything. I love that you can set up individual signatures for those that you text frequently.

    Thanks,
    Geoff
  16. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wrks for me too

    DROIDRAZR215"unrooted"
  17. GPYoung
    Offline

    GPYoung New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thomasville, Ga
    Likewise for me too on the stock app. But, go sms is really awesome as well and I have become attached to it quickly.

    Thanks,
    Geoff
  18. jkaod
    Offline

    jkaod Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This does not work for me with the stock messaging app. If I press and hold a text message, I have a list to choose from, but there is no option for "one message selected" anywhere on the screen and I can delete that one text only.

    I think we are talking about different things. I see that this does work for an entire thread of a text from one recipient, but I can't delete multiple individual texts within a thread, only one at a time or the whole thread.
  19. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Thanks Caric, this is great information that I was not aware of.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  20. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yes, same thing on my phone.