Razr - Camera not working

kblank

Reaction score
Two days ago my camera app stopped working. The icon is there, but when you press it, it re-displays the home screen. Tech Support tried everything, including safe mode, re-boot and finally the re-init. Of course I spend the evening trying to locate contacts I lost, apps that no longer have my data in it and re-entering emails. I understand that this is a reported problem and may be fixed. If not I will get another phone (refurbished Razr) and have to start all over again. Maddening!

As a former software engineer, I do not understand why there is not a more user friendly app to back everyhting up prior to these support issues. what good it is to have third party apps if they are going to get wiped clean whenever. This is my second Razr, the first one quit working after two months of light use.

Sydman

Premium Member
Premium Member
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6P
Welcome to the forum, and sorry for your troubles.

If you are willing to root your phone the go to back-up APP would be Titanium Backup, that will backup all your APPS and their data. As far as contacts I back all of mine up to Google, same for email, and they will even reload any APP you had installed upon restore which is nice.

They have SMS Backup Pro that will back up all your text messages if you are worried about that.

So they had you do a full factory data wipe and you still have a non-functioning camera? It seems that would have fixed the problem if it was software related, have you tried another camera APP from the Play Store such as Camera Zoom FX and see if your camera functions using that?

Sadly the tech support help at Verizon is pretty formulaic..

1. Reboot
2. Remove SIM
3. Hard Reset
4. Factory Data Reset
5. Dead air
6. Sending you a factory like new replacement