1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

RAZR been on fire...

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by jaye712, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok.so iam pretty sure this topic has been brought up many times..i haven't had this issue in a long while..i did a fdr n my battery been hot a lil bit afterwards.should i clear cache n do the recovery agian?its been like this all day with less use
  2. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    It actually may not help but you would know for certain that you ruled out pretty much everything possible.

    First check to make sure you are not on global data. It is set to global by default. Settings ---> More...----> Mobile networks---> Network mode. Set to LTE/CDMA.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  3. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh dayum lol it was set to global.imma do the switch as we speak.i nvr even thought of that.lets see if it helps..thanks tismydroid,..trust me,u been a great help on my issues lol
  4. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I almost didn't think of it at first either. Notice it is the second paragraph, lol! You mentioned fdr and I was ready to jump in it! I hope it is the fix you need.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  5. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha..yeah,i normally forget to switch it when i do a fdr..i dont realize until somethin aint right with the phone lol..maybe because ics has it set on glo manually after fdr n gb didnt do that.lol.hmm,iam wondering if global was the problem that my service kept goin out every 15 30 mins..definitely gonna be keepin an eye on this..ty ty for ur help.phone hasn't been on fire YET..but ill keep u posted.
  6. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Wow, that is good to know. Amazing something so simple can reek that much havoc! Not sure why motorola thought it was a good idea to make global default. I had to do my son's rezound. A whole lot of things different with their ICS and ours. They didn't get global possibilities with their update but they can disable a lot more bloat, have different usb sync options and much better lock screen option.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  7. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well..my service is still goin out.guess its not the global deal.. imma try a new sd card..if not,then its the area or somethin.it started to happen after ics..But anyway..i will say my phone hasnt overheated yet since i swiched it.so far so good lol

    DROIDRAZR215"unrooted"
  8. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check this out.smh..what now? Lol.this actually isnt the first time.its the 2nd..but this is the highest it ever gotin.unplugged since 538 am( the phone was off,but plugged in charging) what iam i doing wrong here..thats what chu call'ON FIRE"

    View attachment 54324

    DROIDRAZR215"unrooted"
  9. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phone didnt even charge.it looks like it got stuck at 30% over night

    DROIDRAZR215"unrooted"
  10. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    123.8 degrees f. Mines gotten up to 130..

    Idk what all you've tried... or what all you have running on that thing... but if its that hot just sitting... you have an app going nuts... making your processor keep going. These omaps are bad for heat.
  11. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Show me your battery stats... the one built in to your phone in system settings, battery. Take a screen shot of that and post it please.
  12. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lets see..i did 2 fdrs..one "clearin cache at reboot...i haven't downloaded any new apps...hmm..the only thing i done different is s.a..but anyway,i wanna fix this..ill try anything at this point..pretty irritated LOL ..the 1st time,i seriously thought it was jst me..i guess not lol..it makes me wanna fdr n delete everythingggg.but i dont wanna do that.. i might as well kept the replacement but i decided not to swich cuz i felt like i didnt wanna do 215 leak agian n start over n lose my files (for some reason that it wouldnt bckup)..my battery life(besides bein on fire)probably had better life then the new replacement lol

    DROIDRAZR215"unrooted"
  13. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. jaye712
    Offline

    jaye712 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dayum..Could this be the problem? I sware i put it to "any source "but i guess it didnt save right.did the swich tho....could this been the problem of why the phone wasnt charging when plugged? I gotta add,the first time the razr got on fire,i didnt even have s.a set yet..

    View attachment 54327

    DROIDRAZR215"unrooted"
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  15. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    It's possible and I hope so (only in hopes that you got this thing figured out). There is nothing unusual that I see in you battery chart. Your OS looks normal. Everything else looks on target. The one thing I noticed was both wifi and 4g were on. That could cause it to heat up also. I keep my data off when I'm on wifi. And when I'm not on wifi, I only turn my data on if I need it... only because there have been times that I left data on and not realized that I was in a bad area for connecting to data and my phone got so hot trying desperately to connect to something that did not exist.

    Keep us updated on your progress.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  16. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Is the low battery saver the only smart action you have enabled??


    If so... you should really consider disabling it... and enable battery extender.
  17. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Why disable the low battery saver? The reason I ask is because I also have it enabled. That and battery extender and night time saver (which is ridiculous because I don't really have a night time).

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  18. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I'm suggesting disabling the low battery saver, and enabling the battery extender, this will shut down the data sync more often. Meaning less CPU time, and cooler temps.
  19. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Is there any problems with having both on or it is not even necessary if you have battery extender on?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  20. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Judging by the screen shots provided.. he's in a poor coverage area.. marginal at best. So his phone is always trying to communicate with the towers, probably bouncing back n forth from 4g to 3g, his battery life looks OK.. but I see bump charges getting him to that time.. but I also see a lot of screen on time.

    What u am suggesting will save CPU cycles, battery, charging, heat, and his nerves :)
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
Search tags for this page
droid razr fire
,

droid razr on fire

,
droud razr firr
,
razr fire calls