RAZR 6.12 update to ICS

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Roms' started by darkcloud617, May 10, 2012.

  1. darkcloud617
    Offline

    darkcloud617 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So When I first bought my RAZR (not he MAXX) I rooted it and took all the bloat off. And I didnt install any roms or anything else. Now that we have fastboot files and the community is picking up with new roms I though id flash ICS on it, problem im having is that I cant update it to 6.12 because im guessing i uninstalled all the bloat. Ive tried recovering the bloat from titanium but it still didnt work (maybe i didnt have all the bloat recovered or something). So that is my problem, I am wanting a taste of ICS but im having trouble updating to 6.12- is there a way to maually flash 6.12 or let it update with all the bloat uninstalled. Or really anything that can help me would be very much appreciated. I am using safestrap newest version with 6.11 isntalled.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. chuggman
    Offline

    chuggman New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Back to stock

    The only way I would know how to restore to stock apps would be to revert back to stock. You will loose all you current settings, and apps, but it will work. Check out this site. [Download] DROID RAZR 2.3.5 Fastboot Files (6.11.744), with flashing instructions

    I have used it, and it works.
     
  3. darkcloud617
    Offline

    darkcloud617 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im assuming i would have to uninstall my safestrap and delete the 'safe OS'? then use the RSD? or will it work with safestrap installed? I mean would this cause problems considering it already has a different rom?
     
  4. chuggman
    Offline

    chuggman New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You do not have to uninstall safestrap, RSD will reload the entire phone back to stock. If you don't do a factory reset after RSD is done, it will be in a boot loop. I believe the link explains how to run a factory reset. If not google factory reset razr. Good luck!
     
  5. darkcloud617
    Offline

    darkcloud617 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the timely help I really do appreciate it. I just had one more really quick question. Considering that it is going completly stock, what if it does get stuck in a boot loop after i use RSD? Does that practically mean that the phone is hard bricked after that? or does will RSD reset it anyway? Sorry, ive never used anything like that before.
     
  6. chuggman
    Offline

    chuggman New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your in a boot loop your not bricked. On the Razr you have to hold down the Vol Up, and PWR button at the same time for about 10 sec. Then you will be able to boot up in recovery to do a factory reset. You may not even get the boot loop after you have RSD back to stock.
     
  7. holla420
    Offline

    holla420 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    atlanta,ga
    Ratings:
    +0
    your best bet is to go back to stock and do it all over that way u kno u got all the files again and work ur way back to the 75 leak if thats wat ur trying to do