Razr #3!!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by SC_SWAT, Jun 3, 2012.

  1. SC_SWAT
    Offline

    SC_SWAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK first of all I know Im new here but Ive been reading this forum for a while. RAZR #1 was acting just fine from the time I purchased it in January until Thursday night. No new Apps downloaded, or updated. I simply went to unlock the phone and the lockscreen was "locked" up. It was also misaligned? I tried the soft reset, and found that the Razr went throught the proper boot and back to the lockscreen...........which is still "locked" up. Never rooted, or anything. After checking on here for a while I decided to take it back to big red and they shipped me another one. I installed the sim card and began the process. everything seemed fine until after my e-mail account was activated and the phone got to the lockscreen. It actually started doing the exact same thing. Took it back again and currently waiting on replacement #3. I love this phone and wont give up, but does anyone have any ideas on whats causing this?.......Another issue is that the phone gets extremely hot, and on full charge will only last about 2-3 hours, and of course it isn't getting past the lockscreen(only recently). Is it possible that the SD card somehow has a virus?.....put it in my laptop, and can find nothing? Any help is greatly appreciated!
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,612
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Those are very strange symptoms, but what's more strange is that you've experienced them across 2 phones. I have no idea what could cause the screen misalignment and extreme power consumption. I'll be curious what the third phone show us with.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  3. SC_SWAT
    Offline

    SC_SWAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I'm no genius, but everyone at verizon said they've never seen this before?....The last thing I remember changing on the phone was a Go Launcher EX Update the day before.........Got me scratching my head?........I probably got it too close to my work phone......iphone 3gs :(.......DAMN APPLE PRODUCTS
  4. lovemyram4x4
    Offline

    lovemyram4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    See if the phone still gets hot with the SD card removed, if so try backing up everything you want to save from the SD card then reformat in the phone.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Forum Runner
  5. SC_SWAT
    Offline

    SC_SWAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry sir/maam, I shouldve mentioned in the original post that i've tried that...........no such luck. Even with the SD removed still gets HOT and cant get past the lockscreen. To add another wierd twist.......I can call the phone and you can swipe to answer as normal.....talk on the phone and everything!.......after you select end call the screen goes blank and phone just stays hot until it's dead..............never seen anything like it. I've had the OG droid, x2 and now the RAZR. Never sent a droid back!.....several Blackberries (dingleberries),and Apples...............but never a Droid!.......kinda hurts my feelings......:icon_eek:
    1
  6. lovemyram4x4
    Offline

    lovemyram4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    From the systems it sounds loke something is overloading your CPU, so if it wasn't something related to the SD card the only other thing that would be common on both phones is the SIM card. If they haven't already see if Verizon will swap the SIM card.

    If you power down the phone & let cool can you get it to unlock? If so monitor what the app's CPU loads are once the phone starts heating up again.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Forum Runner
  7. mustangdroid
    Offline

    mustangdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My brother had a similar problem as yours but it wasn't a RAZR, it was a replacement DROID 2 and a replacement DROIDX. It would not pass the boot screen when he tried to active them the first time. When he got passed that it acted like the screen was wet on all 3 phones. Can't remember what I did to fix it but how about turn it on without the sim card? Download the razr utility thing and delete the cache.
  8. dsprik
    Offline

    dsprik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellaire, MI
    Here's a shot in the dark (I do that alot...) - Are you using the same wall charger? Some are not compatible and they can cause problems. Never heard of it causing those problems. But then again, I have never heard of anything causing those problems...
  9. menozcm
    Offline

    menozcm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it could be a strange app conflict dont let google restore your apps for a few days and see if you have the problem again.
  10. SC_SWAT
    Offline

    SC_SWAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as powering down, it wont let me at all. You can only reboot,and wait for the ole misaligned lockscreen to pop back up. Never plugged the new one to the charger, and I thought about the SIM as well. Verizon told me that there is no way that couldve caused the problem. The Google apps might me a good idea, but I'm sure when the new phone gets here tomorrow I'll have the same problem when I get it set up. Not a pessimist, but I've tried to tell them to give a new SIM and they insist that I try the old again because it was a coincidence with both phones?..............Now I know why crackheads are ill without their drug.............I've been without my droid for 4 days and in the pre-stages of ZOMBIE!
  11. SFGate
    Offline

    SFGate New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope you last through this! Keep us posted.
  12. menozcm
    Offline

    menozcm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you get the new phone don't put the any of the cards in and power the phone and bypass the google setup (instructions here) and see if you have any issues. Then start adding the cards one at a time and see if anything happens. That way if it is the sim card you will have definite proof of it messing with your phone if its the only thing in the phone.
  13. BiGG WiLL
    Offline

    BiGG WiLL New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^ And do it all in the Verizon store..
  14. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    And sim cards are free. They should just give you one. And I would ask for a sim to put in your current phone to see if it solves the problem. Best of luck to you. And I hope your withdrawal symptoms subside very soon!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  15. SC_SWAT
    Offline

    SC_SWAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK boys and girls.......#3 just came in, and i started it up SIM/SD Free. No problems so far...........I've added SIM and phone works flawlessly. Bought new SD and started loading all the purchased apps, e-mail accts, GO Launcher, and every thing else (such a freaking pain!). Looks like the third time is the charm. Let big red locals know that so far so good. I guess it was one heck of a coincidence, but have no clue what happened. This phone is definately keeping a better connection where the previous one kept dropping calls (get full 3g service at home, and 4g in city). I'll let you guys know if anything else pops up, but I'm currently as happy as a dog with two peters!
  16. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ok, being the decent lady that I am, I should not have found that last comment funny ... but rofl big time!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  17. SC_SWAT
    Offline

    SC_SWAT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OUCH....Very sorry!........I promise I do have manners, but I'm quite the happy camper!
  18. menozcm
    Offline

    menozcm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    it was probably the sd card as that is the only thing that was on the old phones that is not in the new one.
Search tags for this page

bypass activation droid razr ics

,
droid 4 bypass activation ics
,

droid razr ice cream sandwich activation bypass

,
droid razr ics activation bypass
,
how to bypass activation screen droid razr maxx without sim
,
how to bypass ics activation on droid razr maxx
,
ics sim card bypass
,
razr maxx bypass activation ics
,
razr maxx ics activation bypass