Rapid Battery Drain and Very Sluggish on Phone dialing

REMilk

Reaction score
I have been using the the Droid 3 since August 2011 with little problem and few annoyances. Over the past month, I have been suffering through 2 problems. The phone is stock/NOT rooted. I am running Android version 2.3.4 with Baseband version of N_03.18.32P.

1. Very Rapid Battery Drain. I have the same widgets that I installed on Day 1, no more/no less. None have had a recent update. The strange thing I notice is that screen is not the number 1 but the following is the latest list.
Android OS 18%
Motorola Services 17%
Google Services 15%
Contacts 12%
Wifi 5%
Phone idle 3%
Cell Standby 3%
Screen display 3%
Voice Calls 2%
Facebook 2%
DropBox 2%

As you can see applications are not the problem. Any suggestions?

2. It takes anywhere from 1 second to 15 minutes to place a call, the majority of times I try to call it takes 4-5 minutes to place the call. Any suggestions?

I am of the opinion, I may have to do a factory refresh and reload all apps.

Thank you,
Bob

OP
REMilk

REMilk

Reaction score
Update:

Last night (December 27, 2012), I did a factory refresh and limited the apps I re-installed to those I primarily use. I did not re-install the home screen/launcher replacement (though there have been no reports of the type of behavior I was experiencing), "Beautiful Widgets" or "Folder Organizer". I also did not re-install Google Voice as I have read of this causing conflicts. (NOTE: I removed this app, and did a battery pull prior to the factory refresh to see if removing Google Voice improved performance, but it did not).

The results...... My Droid 3 is as snappy as it was when I got it new in August 2011.

I will slowly add back a couple of games, "Angry Birds", "Bad Piggies" and a Train game for my grandson.

My Droid 3 needs to make it to April when I am eligible for a new phone. I know I will have to make a full-price purchase to keep my unlimited data plan.

Bob

itzjoe