random shutdown

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by kduff581, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. kduff581
    Offline

    kduff581 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    venice, florida
    So my thunderbolt randomly shuts off by itself. It does it a couple times a day I'm wondering if anyone else has this problem and if there's a way to fix it.
  2. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rialto california
    This is a known problem, there is said to be a ota update on June 15 to fix this problem, or you can manually update it

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  3. rockula
    Offline

    rockula New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    So, not until June 15th right? How do you manually update it? I've actually never hooked my Tbolt up to my Mac/PC. Is there software that I have to interface with like my old Crapberry Desktop Mgr?
  4. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rialto california
    http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...2-links-to-stock-unrooted-custom-rooted-roms/

    PLEASE READ CAREFULLY, it's not difficult at all but if you feel you can't do it then please just wait for ota

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  5. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rialto california
    So I'm guessing your not rooted right?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  6. rockula
    Offline

    rockula New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    Right, Not rooted. I'm not opposed to rooting, but I don't know ANYTHING about why people do. I'd have to research it, and if it's complicated at all, I'd have to then ask a 1,000 questions, do it, etc. Unroot it if I have to send the phone back ever too I take it too?

    I can follow the instructions just fine on that link, but did you guys see this?
    http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...se-hard-bricks-we-advise-you-revert-to-froyo/

    And since I'm new to Android... none of that makes any sense to me! HA! Froyo, CyanogenMod 7?

    So, does that stuff even apply to me being unrooted?
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  7. rockula
    Offline

    rockula New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    I think I'm going to just wait till the OTA, which could still take weeks to get. I don't want to take a chance on a non-warrantied brick. Seems like some have problems with their "people/contacts" not working right, and since I have so many, going thru all of them and getting them dialed in is not high on my list of things to want to have to do! And the other griped is that it doesn't show you what your purchased app's are on Marketplace. I guess before I do the update, I could take a screen shot online of my purchased app's. If I redownlaoad them to the phone, hopefully the system will know I've purchased them and not charge me again. I can sorta handle that "bug", because I'm not sure I'd choose to install half of them anyway.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  8. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rialto california
    And no don't worry about all that, those are for rooted users :)

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  9. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rialto california
    Yea its better to just be patient and wait but if you have problems with the random reboots alot then you can manually do it, I did mine 2 days ago and everything is fine for me

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  10. thunderbornick
    Offline

    thunderbornick New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey everyone, first post here.

    So after talking with the local VZW store, I'm in NJ by the way and in a solid 4G zone, they told me the cause of the random shutdowns was the 4G network - VZW is still having issues apparently. I switched my phone back to CDMA and it's fine, battery lasts a lot longer too. I can't help but be pissed that using the 4G isn't an option when that's the primary reason I bought the phone.

    Side note: further frustrated that the 15th is the date for this update - they couldn't have sent a smaller patch for the restart issue and then sent out an update the 15th when presumably they'll be taking away the mobile hotspot feature for those that don't opt in?
  11. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rialto california
    Hey thunder! Welcome

    Really? That explains why I never had random reboots, I live in only 3g area, and I always have cdma on only. I've only had 3 reboots

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  12. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine reboots at least three times a day. Sunday it rebooted 3 times in two hours and I live in 3g area with cdma only selected in the lte app.
    I am about ready to take it to verizon and ask that they replace it with another phone. I am willing to pay the difference to just get a phone that doesn't reboot on it's own. Heck I'd go back to my env3 sell my thunderbolt and buy another lte phone.
    Not to mention it locks up when you listen to radio apps for longer than 30 minutes. Cumon now!!! I paid all this money for a phone to work and it won't even play iheartradio or radiotime for longer than 30 minutes without crashing.

    Oh yeah the roadster I picked up is useless with the thunderbolt. I say call voicemail and it dials a random contact.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  13. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    rialto california
    :( no good, it's weird how I hear all these people having random reboots like crazy, But I'd be pretty pissed too if I was you, have you tried the mr2 update? Hmm I love my Tbolt, I've never had a problem with anything besides battery life.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  14. rockula
    Offline

    rockula New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    I can't pinpoint anything "exact" to it, because it's here there and everywhere. But I have realized that my phone reboots and or loses data depending on where I am. I've travelled different routes to and from work in my 30min drive, and it's almost a given that the phone will either reboot, or lose it's data connection. However, when I'm in a 4G area, it doesn't seem to be a problem.

    So, hopefully the A. update will fix it, B. Gingerbread will fix it, C. My area goes 4G sooner rather than later. I never trust a phone co when they try to guess when an area is going to go 4G or not. They think they know, but they don't. And I also found out that in my area, there is a small cell company, Centennial, that is basically SCREWING everyone because they won't give up their small little area. I've heard that because of it, Kokomo, IN will always be "on the fringe" of 4G service because no one can put a tower up in the area that really needs it... because Centennial owns that area.

    Something like that. I don't care or need to know the "technicalities" of how it all works. I just know that where we need a tower the most, is owned by Centennial. Centennial I think came in a bought Cingular years ago. I don't know anyone with that company either. I think someone at VZW told me that all of the competition is in the same boat because of it. I don't know. I just want my phone to work.

    I laff when I see commercials on TV showing how awesome the these phones are on 4G. I came from a Blackberry Tour. And I thought that phone was the worse phone ever made because you couldn't quickly bring up anything. My Tbolt isn't far from it. My situation is like this:

    TV Commercial "I'm out and about... and I want to check this website out for a "hot deal" on something, or compare a price".

    Real life: "I'll try to check this website out to see whatever... wow... this is taking forever.... oh cool, I just lost my data connection! Guess I'd better pull my battery and wait 8minutes for it to reboot. 8 minutes later and in a rage, I try again. Things are moving, but not all that fast. I'm getting closer! Almost to the info I need! There it is! Let's see here... it says that... Oh great, my phone just rebooted itself.

    I've never wanted to smash and stomp a device so badly in all of my life. In fact... I don't even know what it's like to be "on the go" and to be able to "access information with any sort of quickness or reliability".

    I would consider myself a "power user". I expect and demand a lot from my phone because my phone is about the only time I can actually DO anything. Read the news, listen to music, surf the web, etc. I don't have a lot of time to do that at home or at work. I find myself using my phone to check my emails, send texts, read Pulse, maybe play a stupid game, or whatever. The only time I can sit and watch Youtube is on my phone. We're shopping, or at the swimming pool, and I'm bored. That's when I like to "do stuff". And everything I like to do requires SPEED, and speed is about the last thing I ever get in this area. It's not the phone's fault. It's where i live. BUT, it doesn't help when your phone reboots and loses data like it is it's JOB.

    There is NO WAY VZW is going to swap me out phones until that update hits. No way. They'll make me wait "just to see". So, I'm not even going to bother with doing anything about this phone until next week or so. After that, i'm going to have to do something about a replacement. I've ruled out getting an iPhone, because even used they are too much money. I'm stuck with this horrible buggy first in class TBolt until the end of 2012. Yay.
  15. rockula
    Offline

    rockula New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    By the way... I think the zone I live in is like some kind of hybrid mix of crap. It's for sure 3G, not even close to being 4G, and at times, it's not even 3G. So, when I'm driving to work, depending on where I'm at (which is always VERY Rural), I'll have more problems than other days. My phone is bouncing in and out of 3G all the time.

    I think that my area has a mix of EVDO or something like that. It's either 3G or it'll say 1x or it'll say EV (on my old phone). And I'm on a 4G driven phone. THAT is the problem. I'm convinced the brains of my phone is unable to handle going in and out of different networks, and I have no idea what to do to help it?
  16. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    My wife gets reboots at home on wifi.
  17. Hipstr62
    Offline

    Hipstr62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota
    I'm also in a 3G only area and I have been having one or two reboots daily...so, I don't think it has anything to do with the 4G network. I'm also having trouble with my GPS being everything besides accurate....anyone have a fix for this or know if there's going to be a fix in the update tomorrow?

    Sent from my HTC-Thndrblt using Droid Forums
  18. thunderbornick
    Offline

    thunderbornick New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue! By the time the GPS catches up to me I'm at my destination. It sucks when someone pulls an iPhone out and - boom - it knows exactly where they are and my phone is still a couple miles away. I chalked this up to being in NYC a lot and signals bouncing between building's but it happens in suburbia too!

    I can only say I share the sentiments expressed here and have my fingers crossed for tomorrow's update.
  19. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they really need to let us change phones since they apparently can't fix the issues on this device. I know we all raved about it at first but now we wish they would have pushed it back or just dumped the device alltogether.
    Sad thing is I have't heard anything about the other 4g phones to see if they're better or not.
  20. Hipstr62
    Offline

    Hipstr62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota
    Anxiously awaiting...

    I am keeping my fingers crossed that the OTA fix tomorrow takes care of these issues. My GPS seems to work fine for certain apps and others, not so well. Foursquare, my Cardio Trainer (marks my path exactly), and my Vlingo navigator work well but my camera often posts pictures with the GPS location miles off from where the pic was actually taken. As for the reboot problem, that always seems to happen at the most inopportune moments and that dang well better be fixed soon or I demanding they exchange my phone for the Bionic or something else.
Search tags for this page
droid charge random shutdown
,
droid dna random shutdowns
,
droid hd random shutdown
,

droid incredible random shutdown

,
how fix thunderbolt random shutoff
,

htc incredible 2 random shutdown problem

,
htc one x autoshutdown problem to encounter
,
htc thunderbolt cell data shutdown
,

htc thunderbolt ii random shut downs

,
shutdown
,
sudden shutdowns of droid charge