random shutdown

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by kduff581, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. kduff581

    kduff581 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    venice, florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    So my thunderbolt randomly shuts off by itself. It does it a couple times a day I'm wondering if anyone else has this problem and if there's a way to fix it.
     
  2. klaudiadroid2

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a known problem, there is said to be a ota update on June 15 to fix this problem, or you can manually update it

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  3. rockula

    rockula Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, not until June 15th right? How do you manually update it? I've actually never hooked my Tbolt up to my Mac/PC. Is there software that I have to interface with like my old Crapberry Desktop Mgr?
     
  4. klaudiadroid2

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...2-links-to-stock-unrooted-custom-rooted-roms/

    PLEASE READ CAREFULLY, it's not difficult at all but if you feel you can't do it then please just wait for ota

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  5. klaudiadroid2

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm guessing your not rooted right?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  6. rockula

    rockula Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, Not rooted. I'm not opposed to rooting, but I don't know ANYTHING about why people do. I'd have to research it, and if it's complicated at all, I'd have to then ask a 1,000 questions, do it, etc. Unroot it if I have to send the phone back ever too I take it too?

    I can follow the instructions just fine on that link, but did you guys see this?
    http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...se-hard-bricks-we-advise-you-revert-to-froyo/

    And since I'm new to Android... none of that makes any sense to me! HA! Froyo, CyanogenMod 7?

    So, does that stuff even apply to me being unrooted?
     
    #6 rockula, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  7. rockula

    rockula Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I'm going to just wait till the OTA, which could still take weeks to get. I don't want to take a chance on a non-warrantied brick. Seems like some have problems with their "people/contacts" not working right, and since I have so many, going thru all of them and getting them dialed in is not high on my list of things to want to have to do! And the other griped is that it doesn't show you what your purchased app's are on Marketplace. I guess before I do the update, I could take a screen shot online of my purchased app's. If I redownlaoad them to the phone, hopefully the system will know I've purchased them and not charge me again. I can sorta handle that "bug", because I'm not sure I'd choose to install half of them anyway.
     
    #7 rockula, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  8. klaudiadroid2

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    And no don't worry about all that, those are for rooted users :)

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. klaudiadroid2

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea its better to just be patient and wait but if you have problems with the random reboots alot then you can manually do it, I did mine 2 days ago and everything is fine for me

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  10. thunderbornick

    thunderbornick New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone, first post here.

    So after talking with the local VZW store, I'm in NJ by the way and in a solid 4G zone, they told me the cause of the random shutdowns was the 4G network - VZW is still having issues apparently. I switched my phone back to CDMA and it's fine, battery lasts a lot longer too. I can't help but be pissed that using the 4G isn't an option when that's the primary reason I bought the phone.

    Side note: further frustrated that the 15th is the date for this update - they couldn't have sent a smaller patch for the restart issue and then sent out an update the 15th when presumably they'll be taking away the mobile hotspot feature for those that don't opt in?
     
  11. klaudiadroid2

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey thunder! Welcome

    Really? That explains why I never had random reboots, I live in only 3g area, and I always have cdma on only. I've only had 3 reboots

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
    #11 klaudiadroid2, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  12. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Mine reboots at least three times a day. Sunday it rebooted 3 times in two hours and I live in 3g area with cdma only selected in the lte app.
    I am about ready to take it to verizon and ask that they replace it with another phone. I am willing to pay the difference to just get a phone that doesn't reboot on it's own. Heck I'd go back to my env3 sell my thunderbolt and buy another lte phone.
    Not to mention it locks up when you listen to radio apps for longer than 30 minutes. Cumon now!!! I paid all this money for a phone to work and it won't even play iheartradio or radiotime for longer than 30 minutes without crashing.

    Oh yeah the roadster I picked up is useless with the thunderbolt. I say call voicemail and it dials a random contact.
     
    #12 wvdroidman, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
Search tags for this page
droid charge random shutdown
,
droid dna random shutdowns
,
droid hd random shutdown
,

droid incredible random shutdown

,
how fix thunderbolt random shutoff
,

htc incredible 2 random shutdown problem

,
htc one x autoshutdown problem to encounter
,

htc thunderbolt ii random shut downs

,
shutdown
,
sudden shutdowns of droid charge