Random Restarting? moto droid

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by JPlue, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. JPlue

    JPlue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, new to the forum but not to the Droid.

    I've had my Moto Droid since December, and am obsessed with it. Until about an hour ago I had never run into any problems with it, but now it is constantly restarting over and over and over (you get the picture).

    I already uninstalled all of the apps that I've installed since yesterday (which took about 10 mins because it restarts after about 10 seconds).

    Has anybody else run into this problem? I really don't want to have to exchange it with Verizon, but I also want to have a usable Droid!

    Any help or advice would be awesome!

    -Jeff
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Since you already removed all the new apps try pulling the battery.

    Mike
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8

    :welcome: to the Droid Forums. Try doing a factory reset and see if that doesn't help. If that doesn't work then you can try a hard factory reset. We'll cross that bridge when we get there.
     
  4. JPlue

    JPlue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've manually restarted, and pulled the battery a number of times. Restarted with and without the SD card inserted, with the charger plugged in, etc. Is there any specific app or something that people have found to be buggy?
     
  5. JPlue

    JPlue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey hook, thanks for the welcome. You posted as I was responding to the other post. My noob is showing, but how do I do a regular reset (not the hard reset), and will this erase all my apps?
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just go to settings/privacy/factory reset.
     
  7. JPlue

    JPlue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks, and is it a huge P.I.T.A. to re-setup all of my google info (gmail, voice etc.)?
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nope, you just sign into it with your password. Had to do it myself a week ago.
     
  9. JPlue

    JPlue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent. It's in the process of restarting now, I'm keeping my fingers crossed!
     
  10. JPlue

    JPlue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, it's been reset and has stayed on for about 8 minutes so far... everything seems to be ok. Thanks for all of your help Hook!
     
  11. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Let's wait 24 hours before you thank me. ;)
     
  12. JPlue

    JPlue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha will do. I'm super impressed by android/google for being able to restore all of my contacts and apps
     
Search tags for this page

android restarts when sd card inserted