Random JB Questions

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by BKApple, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. BKApple

    BKApple Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Since playing around with JB, I have a few random questions.

    1. How can I bring up Google Now without the keyboard? Currently, a short or a long press on the magnifying glasses brings up Google Now with the keyboard. I could add a Google search widget or icon to a homescreen, but I'd rather not since there's a dedicated search softkey.

    2. On ICS, a double tap of my home key brought me to the camera. I cannot remember how I did that. Is setting the softkey to a specific action still available?

    3. Can anyone explain why I have two folders in my albums called "camera"?

    4. Do you know why it shows double entries for some contacts in the stock text messaging app? I have two Elizabeths and I double checked that each contact had only one mobile number, e-mail, etc. and they do. However, when I use Google Now to send a text or go straight to the text messaging app, I'm presented with double entries. Screenshots below. Ideas?

    Screenshots.png

    Extra credit: What do you recommend to replace Google Reader, since it's going away this summer?

    Thanks!
     
  2. chrisyouwanttknow

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The camera thing I have no idea. Do they both work? The contacts might be from different accounts , are the Elizabeth's the same person but maybe 1 is for facebook and 1 is for Google Plus. If so then you would have to merge the contacts. Also when I bring up my Google now the keyboard does not show up. To change the double tap, going to settings, accessibility, all the way at the bottom. Did you do a factory reset your phone before you installed jelly bean?
     
  3. PurpleSunday

    PurpleSunday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    2. Are you using the stock launcher or a 3rd party launcher? I use Apex and that option is in the Apex settings under Behavior.

    3. I think the 2 folders are pictures stored on both the phone and sd card. Somehow the default save location must've changed with JB.
     
  4. PurpleSunday

    PurpleSunday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oh and #4... If you go in and edit one of the entries, press the menu button and you can "join" the duplicate entries.
     
  5. PurpleSunday

    PurpleSunday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry for bombarding you with replies, but I just found that if you open the camera app, click on the gear option, and scroll down; there's an option to save to the sd card rather than internal storage... which is probably where your old pictures are saved.
     
  6. BKApple

    BKApple Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you so much! My home button is now programmed how I like it.

    I should have mentioned this, but I don't have any other accounts synced with my contacts, only Google, so this double phantom contact thing isn't coming from FB, Linked In, etc.
     
  7. PurpleSunday

    PurpleSunday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hmmmm. Are you using backup assistant or YouMail? If you go to System Menu you can scroll down to Accounts and see if there are any other mystery accounts syncing.
     
  8. BKApple

    BKApple Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I checked and the photos are stored on the SD card. I'm not sure what the location was on ICS. I wish the folders could be merged.
     
  9. BKApple

    BKApple Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not; just regular Google account and I don't have any contact info on the actual phone. All of my contacts' information is stored in Google.
     
  10. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +187
    You should be able to move the pics from the folder that you don't want them in, to the folder you do want them in.
     
  11. chrisyouwanttknow

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should do a factory reset. I live by the rule of factory reset right before updating the OS and then again right after the update just to make sure there is no weird issues.
     
  12. TriciaH

    TriciaH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central Texas (not my fault)
    Ratings:
    +8
    On the double folder problem, mine did that when I got the Christmas Eve update. This was the solution that worked for me. Settings>All Apps>Media storage. Clear data. Reboot phone. I only had one folder of each afterwards. Hope it works for you.
     
Search tags for this page

bkapple

,

randomjb mobile