Ram use....

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S6, S6 Edge and S6 Edge Plus' started by Kippygal, Sep 10, 2015.

  1. Kippygal

    Kippygal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy 6s edge
    This is annoying me. Is there a way to free this up? S6 edge (not +)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    Welcome to the forum

    I personally don't see a problem. Android tends to do a great job of managing memory and it appears to be doing its job. If you had no free memory you would have a problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,354
    Likes Received:
    5,877
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,707
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Welcome to the forum!
     
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    7,064
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,406
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Welcome! As Leeshor said, it appears to be functioning normally. RAM is Random Access Memory. The system loads info into it for quick access, reducing load times. The system also automatically moves info out of RAM as needed to free up space. As long as there's SOME left, it's safe to assume the system is doing what it was designed to do. Clearing EVERYTHING out of RAM will only frustrate you more, because it will take longer to load certain applications.

    It helps to think of RAM like a desk. You put the papers you're working on on your desk. You may have Facebook papers on top because that's what you're currently using, but that doesn't mean that you take the Instagram and Twitter papers off your desk just to use the Facebook papers. You leave them in the pile of papers so you can refer back to them quickly. Now, when your desk gets full and you haven't used the Instagram papers in a quite a while, you might take them off of the desk to make room for your Angry Birds papers. This is basically what the Android OS does with data in RAM. Hope that helps to clarify, rather than being more confusing.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Kippygal

    Kippygal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy 6s edge
    No I get it, I've worked on computers for a long time. I actually used to write programs in DOS. :) however I'm very new to Android as far as changing anything. I have never modded a device, don't plan to yet. There is something going on with my phone though I removed a bunch of apps that I don't remember downloading but they were in the downloaded folder. It seems to be working better. I do have that problem with the brightness changing even though I do not have auto brightness selected.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,354
    Likes Received:
    5,877
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,707
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    There are a couple of ways to adjust the brightness on Galaxy devices. Go into system settings, display, make sure screen mode is set to Standard, not adapt display. Also, make sure the "auto adjust" box is unchecked there as well, as it's independent from the auto adjust box in your notification drop down.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. droidprincess

    droidprincess Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9,474
    Likes Received:
    3,865
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    La Grange, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,100
    Current Phone Model:
    Iphone 7 Plus
    Twitter:
    droidprincesstx
    Welcome to DF!
    As far as the screen brightness changing....I noticed with my Edge+ that when I had the "Power Saving Mode" enabled the screen brightness would constantly change and sometimes stay so dim that I could not see very well.
     
    • Like Like x 1