[RAM Tweak] - Force an application to stay in RAM - build.prop tweak

Discussion in 'Steel Droid' started by alucardx, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. alucardx
    Offline

    alucardx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    All credit goes to Eiertschik @ [ROM] CyanogenMod 7.2.0 RC0 (Android 2.3.7) - Page 711 - xda-developers

    This tweak can force an app to stay in RAM simply by adding a string of text to /system/build.prop along with the internal process name (com.foo.bar)

    For instance, my entry in build.prop is

    Code:
    sys.keep_app_1=com.jrtstudio.music
    Ever since I started using Gingerbread ROMs, Android Music would keep losing where I was at in the middle of a mp3 via a "Pause". I listen to 1-2hour radio mp3 shows and obviously need it to pause and remember where it's at in the mp3 so when I listen again it picks up where it left off. In Froyo I never had an issue, I've always used the built in Android Music app and the Widget. In SS5.6 I had this issue sometimes, and in SD9.0 it always happens. With or without v6 supercharger, the OS would keep killing android music so it would lose the file handle and thus "forget" it's place in the mp3 file.

    The key point here it's based on app name, not PID, so it only needs to be set once.

    I also rebooted my phone, and it picked back up exactly where it left off! Finally, just like Froyo. I tried using Auto Memory Management app to do this but, #1 it's an extra app that I don't want, #2 it didn't really work and was based on PID. So anytime it was rebooted or Music was killed, it would get a different PID.
  2. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    does this actually work??? i've never heard of it before???
  3. alucardx
    Offline

    alucardx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    yes, it's working for me. but i've only used it for android music.

    there's a lot of goodies over xda forum but this one was buried in a CM7 thread.
  4. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    I'm not sure, would be amazing if it does. Kinda weird how now these 2 RAM tweaks that seem pretty major would come out now?

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
  5. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    I asked Zeppelinrox about it and he said that its only on some cyanogenmod 7 based roms... So I guess you might be able to tell is run it in terminal emulator first with setprop sys.keep_app_1 = com.jrtstudio.music
  6. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    So anything after setprop puts it into build.prop?

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
  7. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Not really, it does the same thing as putting it in build.prop but only for that one time, it doesn't stick on reboot usually... Its just to see if it works
  8. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    I'll just edit build.prop manually, I've done it 200,000 times before so it's probably quicker. Was thinking about putting LatinIME.apk in and see if that works. Think that'd be a problem?

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
  9. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Any insight as to whether this is the better option, I'm assuming so, instead of using zeppelinrox v6 supercharger that has a bulletproof app option? Looking to lock swapper2 in so it won't get killed or "restarting" and screw up my 256mb swap partition. I need that sucker

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
Similar Threads
  1. mojohand
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    4,371
  2. Castro
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,290
  3. dtdlurch
    Replies:
    38
    Views:
    7,417
  4. ahj4513
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    6,156
  5. mattamous
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,684
Loading...
Search tags for this page
android force app to stay in memory
,

android keep app in memory

,
build prop tweaks
,
build.prop ram
,
build.prop ram tweaks
,

build.prop tweaks

,

keep app in memory

,

keep app in memory android

,
lock app in memory android
,
lock app in ram android
,
sys.keep app
,

sys.keep app 1