Ram? Am I going crazy over nothing...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Stelv, May 28, 2011.

?

How do you feel about ram. Will 512mbs hold its own over the next year?

  1. 512mbs ram is too low

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 512mbs ram is just fine

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Alot of the newer phones that Verizon is releases only have about 512mbs of ram. Isn't this low? Doesn't this set these phones up for software issues in the future..say a year from now. Wouldn't ram be even more important than dual core processing speed?

    Or am I going crazy over nothing. Does the android os handle things so efficiently that 512 is enough?

    I know this is all subjective, but I am a power user...i do alot with my phone and need to know if I am wrong in thinking that 512 is too low. What are your opinions?

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  2. cush2push

    cush2push Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    Ratings:
    +6
    From what I hear its computer grade ram in the newer moto devices not sure if it makes a dif but that's what I hear

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    512 is pretty good for me

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
     
  4. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Computer grade ram sounds pretty good. But is the Android OS going to be able to take advantage of this new hardware within the next year? Do advanced apps and games need more than 512mbs? I wonder if ice cream sandwich is going to be more memory intensive.

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  5. Lex_Luthor

    Lex_Luthor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think 512 MB (not Mbs) of RAM is plenty for a phone. These phones dont run exactly like a computer so having that much RAM is plenty but you will run into problems when you need to run programs that need alot of memory like some 3D games when the OS is hogging up a lot of it.
     
  6. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I do want to be able to run 3d games in the future, although I run some now on my fascinate and they run fine.

    Sent from my fascinate
     
  7. bendystrawboy

    bendystrawboy Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    my droid 1 doesn't have 512mb of ram..and it usually has about 60mb free

    i don't know why everyones clamoring over 512 of 1mb of ram on a phone, most people are sitting at home running xp with 256mb of ram.
     
  8. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    You make a good point. XP is a solid OS.

    Sent from my fascinate
     
Search tags for this page

why is the ram on my phone going crazy?