raising Bionic's volume through hidden menu *please read*

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Zabrak, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. Zabrak
    Offline

    Zabrak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello there, with the Galaxy S I was able to fundamentally raise the volume through a 'hidden' menu

    Samsung Galaxy S - How, What & Where

    if you scroll down there, you'll see he says to enter *#*#197328640#*#* and yadda yadda

    I think there may be others, too. but None of them seem to work with the Bionic.

    anyway, I tried doing this and Bionic to no avail. Different handset, different hidden menu, I suppose.

    there is the ##program menu, but I don't think I can change any audio from there.


    Know how I can fundamentally raise the volume on the bionic? The volume app raisers really don't know anything, we'd have to actually dig deep and raise it. Trying to look for any menus to go to and I can't seem to find anything.

    Please help
     
  2. Zregnier
    Offline

    Zregnier Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +7
    What do you enter for SPC Password when doing the ##program thing?
     
  3. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Six zero's in the password field will get you in.

    I do not recall ever seeing this type of hack with a moto phone. I know back in the day with the D1 there was a hack to change the steps of the volume, but not overall volume. I took a quick peek at the build.prop file and did not see anything that jumped out as a volume setting. There was one switch line with 10 steps, but my volume rockers have 15 steps, so not sure if this would be the right thing to test.

    But I too am curious if this is possible.

    Craig
     
  4. Zabrak
    Offline

    Zabrak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    BUMP

    c'mon people

    PLEASE HELP
     
  5. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    So not trying to start a fire or anything just genuinely curious, but why might one want to use a code to change the volume instead of just the buttons? Offers more control? Can remap the buttons to something else? Just wondering...
     
  6. 318Droid
    Offline

    318Droid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +5
    Seems like it would be a way to make the phones speaker much louder than what it is now. As in the buttons/basic settings only control so much volume but with this "hack" it surpasses this basic volume. At least thats how I take it

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  7. safety
    Offline

    safety New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    While we're adding codes, I know of *#*#checkin#*#* that supposedly asks for updates from the network if I'm not mistaken.

    I looked at the /data/data/com.motorola.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db file and found, volume_threshold_percentage = 3 and volume_monitor_interval = 5. Not sure if that will work but you can try unless someone else knows.

    Sent from my Liberated Bionic
     
  8. tbell6
    Offline

    tbell6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I assume you have already checked the sound menu? Any chance someone messed with it there.

    I used that sound menu to get my media volume to match level to radio. When I go from radio, to satellite, then media via blue tooth I don't get startling volume change. I have a Ford Fusion with SYNC system.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  9. Zabrak
    Offline

    Zabrak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anybody know what he's talking about? How do I get to those settings, and what numbers would I change when I get to the settings

    also, I downloaded SQlite, if anybody would know what to do with that
     
  10. dyno
    Offline

    dyno Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can download a app called quick settings which gives you access to system volume.
     
  11. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    I know in the Droid X build.prop there was a line "ro.config.vc_call_vol_steps=7". You could change the value from 7 to 15 and it more than doubled the speaker volume. I'm not sure if the Bionic has the same line but it's worth a shot.
     
  12. safety
    Offline

    safety New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does indeed. I tried changing the db values I mentioned earlier and couldn't tell any difference in volume. I'll try this later.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  13. tbell6
    Offline

    tbell6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same as Sound submenu?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  14. hunter9604
    Offline

    hunter9604 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Branson, MO
    Ratings:
    +1
    This would be awesome, I can't hear my alarms, definitely watching this thread

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  15. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Watching this thread as well, Phone is too quiet, now if only there was a way to make vibrate to actually cause feeling on my leg going through my pants pocket, that would be great.
     
Search tags for this page
bionic hidden commands
,
droid bionic hidden menu
,
droid bionic program menu
,
droid bionic secret codes
,
droid bionic secret features
,

droid bionic secrets

,
motorola bionic hidden menu
,
motorola bionic secret codes
,
motorola droid bionic secret codes
,
secrets about droid bionic