1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Radar Detector...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by autoxinvr6, Jan 8, 2010.

1. autoxinvr6

autoxinvr6 New Member

So. First off, I'm brand new to Android and smart phone and all that stuff... But anyway.

I was thinking on the way home today, wouldn't it be awesome to be able to usb/bluetooth the droid to a remote police radar/laser sensor and have an app that works as a digital radar interface to display contacts, ect while it was mounted on the windshield?

I remember a few days ago while researching "carputer" stuff that a fella made a box that harnessed the phone type connectors of his Valentine V1 to his car computer. The actual unit was mounted in the grill and connected to his car computer through his self made box and displayed through his car computer touch screen through software he designed.

Obviously I have no idea where to start but I do know the Passport makes a Detector device that syncs with your computer and GPS for software updates and to filter out false radar alarms and known police "speed traps" ect...

Maybe there is a way to exploit the USB connection and use it as a remote sensor for a Droid app to read/use in real time...

Maybe there's a way to use the telephone cable remote sensors of the remote kits into something for the Droid?

Maybe I'm just dreaming... Any thoughts?
  2. autoxinvr6

autoxinvr6 New Member

3. 1033

1033 New Member

pretty much any electronic device can be interfaced to android with an arduino microcontroller and a BlueSMiRF bluetooth modem.
  4. RW-1

RW-1 New Member

I like the idea of porting GPS derived data to the display in a reversed sense, you then place on dash and the reflected normal image is "presto" poor man's HUD... :)
  5. swickdick

swickdick New Member

Don't know how to do it but props to you for pursuing it. F da PO lice
  6. Audiophobe