R2D2 bootanimation Optimized for D1 (No lag!)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by doomedromance, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. doomedromance

    doomedromance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Waianae
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have optimized the R2D2 bootanimation for the original Droid. It will play smoothly and all the way through. File is half the size!

    R2D2 animation here.

    Droid 2 boot animation. optimized for Droid. (Untested)

    Installation Instructions.
    Rooted Users:
    Use Root Explorer to move the bootanimation.zip
    1. Put on SD Card
    2. Rename R2D1_bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.zip (Can be done from computer before copied to SD Card instead.)
    3. Copy and Paste it into /data/local (will take up memory used for apps)
    alt. 3. Copy and past into /system/media (This will replace your original bootanimation so be sure to rename that file to bootanimation.zip.bak before copying the new one.)
    4. Turn off your phone.
    5. Turn on your phone.

    No Root needed:
    *must have Android SDK installed. and put the android-sdk folder on your c drive (c:/android-sdk)
    *install the motorola usb drivers for your OS (Win 32bit) (Win 64bit)

    rename R2D1_bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.zip and create a folder on your c drive named bootanimation (c:/bootanimation)

    Process:
    - Open command prompt (cmd.exe)
    - cd c:/android-sdk (or /wherever-your-sdk-tools-folder-is)
    - adb devices (to verify the connection - will show your device serial number if connected)
    - cd c:/bootanimation
    - adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local/bootanimation.zip
    - adb reboot

    Your phone will now reboot and play your new bootanimation!


    Video and original file brought to you by Droid Life
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  2. rdoute

    rdoute New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't think I had a problem with the "original", rooted and overclocked to 1.25, but gave yours a shot anyway. If just to use root explorer that I just bought. Wow it is lighting fast, very smooth, and plays the whole thing, just like you thought. Thanks
     
  3. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    can't we just through it on sd card and install through clockmod??? that is how I installed the first original file?
     
  4. doomedromance

    doomedromance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Waianae
    Ratings:
    +0
    So does it play smoother on a Droid than the original? I know the image quality isn't as good, but that had to be sacrificed.

    I don't use clockwork mod. But if that's how you did it. It will work that way.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
  5. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    do we have to put it in data/local??? I hate using up all my internal memory!!! works great though!
     
  6. doomedromance

    doomedromance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Waianae
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can put it in /system/media
    that's where I always put mine. It won't take up space from apps but that's where the stock boot is so back that up first.
     
  7. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am doing this on way to hospital did I mis read op. Do o put file on both locations or choose between the places you have in op? I put file in both places???
     
  8. doomedromance

    doomedromance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Waianae
    Ratings:
    +0
    choose a place
     
  9. TAPOUT27

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    installed in system/media....runs and looks great...dancedroid

    thanks.....
     
  10. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed yours doesnt have the sound. If I coped the ogg file from the OG and changed the txt file to the following, would it work?

    480 854 15
    p 1 0 part0
    p 0 10 part1
    s d2_r2d2_pu.ogg

    And nice work BTW. Cant wait to test this at home after I get off work.
     
  11. dakoop

    dakoop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    looks good. might have to give it a try
     
  12. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    works great, question about the video. how did they get the droid-life logo on their lockscreen? is that a DX only thing?
     
  13. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not tested this yet as I am at work and no cable but this should be working now with sound. All I did was add a line for sound and the OG .ogg file. To make this work, extract the zip and then do the same as the OP said above but also move the .ogg file to the same location of the bootanimation. Should work. I will test when I get home later tonight and give more detailed instructions if ya guys need.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
  14. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    so did anyone get it working with sound? i cant try till later, but if it was that simple that would be awesome haha...somehow i think it may not be that simple (or possible) though...
     
  15. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine should work. All I did was call out the same sound that the OG bootanimation did. I will know 100% in 4 hours when I get home. Will post success or fail. dancedroid
     
Search tags for this page

bootanimation r2d2.zip

,

custom boot animation sound lag

,

droid 2 r2d2 lag in game

,

shutdown animation android download