1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

QuickDesk app.. AWESOME

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by alm0614, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. dodgersrgood
    Offline

    dodgersrgood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow nice find. This is awesome
  3. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    I'm gonna have to check this out
  4. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Having troubles getting this to leave launcher pro as my homescreen launcher yet be able to use this to pop up the screen. I like the concept, just trying to get it set up right.
  5. dodgersrgood
    Offline

    dodgersrgood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was thinking the same thing as u but now I have launcher pro as default homescreen and then use the long press of search button for this. Works great
  6. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Glad it wasn't just me. the Rescue Squad shouldn't get stuck...it just looks bad:)

    I saw that option but like the longpress of search for voicesearching. I don't use it often but when I do its handy. Usually its when I'm in the car.

    I do like the concept of having double taps, single taps, and long presses for our 4 softkeys though. Someone should run with that idea.
  7. Techenigma
    Offline

    Techenigma New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura County, CA
    This is why I love this forum. I would never have found this great app without this place. Once I got it set up properly this is single handedly the most useful app I have. Let me clear off 3 pages of widgets I used to maintain just so I had constant access to them but this one app and a few folders set on it do the same job. Its like a little HUD available with a couple taps.

    Since I was able to kill all those widgets my launcher sped up noticeably too.
  8. Asterisk
    Offline

    Asterisk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This app is one of the best apps for multitasking that I have used. After viewing the setup and getting everything set the right way it is awesome. The only problem that I see or wish was added was that it took all the homescreens you have or you could add like 3 more screens to add more things.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  9. Anticitizen
    Offline

    Anticitizen New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet! I can tell already I'll be making heavy use of this.
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    How are you all setting it up?

    Are you using the search key longpress?

    What's your main launcher set as?
  11. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You have to initially make quickdesk your default home launcher... but then in the quickdesk settings, tell it to make launcherpro the app that launches when you press the home key.
  12. Techenigma
    Offline

    Techenigma New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura County, CA
    My main launcher is Launcher Pro. I use double press of the home key to open mine.
  13. jimmyg
    Offline

    jimmyg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    edit* nm got it this is awesome :)
  14. darklipslide
    Offline

    darklipslide New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. Relex
    Offline

    Relex New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great app, I can't remember how many times I've opened the browser and forgot to turn on the wifi.


    How do I add icon for apps? I got rid of messaging but wan to add handcent.
  16. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    thanks for the help, figured it out.

    Go to settings/applications/manage apps/launcher pro (my current desktop launcher)....and cleared defaults.

    Press the home-key and set up QuickDesk as the default launcher.

    Got into QuickDesk and menu-key let me set the default home press to the the desktop launcher I was using before installing this.

    Now a home-key press is the homescreen app I had before installing QuickDesk and a double tap opens QuickDesk.

    I have a single homescreen with QuickDesk. Longpress and put the Power Control Widget there for starters.

    The back-key closes QuickDesk if I double-tapped the homekey to open it... while in my browser for example.

    For applications do a longpress and add a shortcut/application/app-of-your-choosing
  17. HermitObserver
    Offline

    HermitObserver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man, the developer has come out with some really revolutionizing Android Apps: HelixLaunchers 1&2 with the stationary shortcuts, this. It's amazing.
  18. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England

    Helix blew me away too. you just never know who'd gonna come up with what new cool app next!

    btw, for a while your social group was empty. I notice there now are 3 in there.
  19. Appleanche
    Offline

    Appleanche New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems absolutely perfect for things like the music apps and power things, and I've really liked the idea so far but it seems to make things much more laggy on Froyo (mainly the delay in touching the home button), so I might just keep it away for updates later, it's just in beta now.

    Basically if they could just fix the lag, add a nice little animation, and get landscape support it would be absolutely gold.
  20. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I would like to see this app also hook into the Multimedia and Car docking defaults... because as it stands now, you cannot access quickdesk when docked on either.
Search tags for this page

awesomehud droid