quick setcpu question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Deano2423, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. Deano2423

    Deano2423 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have all mr profiles set the way I like them most at 500 max and 250 min, anyway I was wondering if I normaly aim for 800max 250min would increasing the min yield results or would it be harmful to increase the min? If not anyone have any recs for a stable min speed?


    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't think it would create problems so long as you didn't set it on 800/800 constantly for all profiles.

    My regular profile is 550/1000.
     
  3. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah I agree with Matth3w......I understand it as it will be fine as long as the profiles are not the same above 550
     
  4. windstrings

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see the harm in putting the min all the way down to 125 or so.
    The cpu will always run faster if it "needs" to... but if nothing is going on, whats the benefit if using more battery with a cpu running faster with nothing to do?

    Some may feel running faster gives an edge on response time... cpu's are pretty stinkin fast.. I don't know if thats notable to measure with the human brain.....

    There is something to be said for battery life.
     
  5. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    It needs to "spin up" if it's at 250. It can create lag.
     
  6. windstrings

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0

    Its not a hardrive.. what do you mean "spin up?"

    I run an AMD chip in my laptop and it rests when not in use to save battery.
    I honestly can't see a difference if I make it run full speed all the time or allow it to rest.

    If there is a "lag" its a firmware issue, because there shouldn't be any noticeable.
     
  7. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    What you need to watch is your load.... I noticed at 125 it was heavy even when resting... I upped it to 250 min and it's much better.

    a 500 min is a little overboard though imo.
     
  8. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know how to put it really. It just seems to lag more if it's set to minimum in sleep and not outside of sleep. Probably it takes a few moments for SetCPU to change it, not the CPU itself slowing. Sorry if I misunderstood or conveyed myself poorly.
     
  9. windstrings

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok... well good to know, I guess it is what it is...

    I look forward to installing that as soon as this OTA comes out.....
     
  10. windstrings

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody know what the default minimum is before rooting and such?

    I can view it with system info, but Its obviously not sleeping when being viewed.

    Does it just cruise at 550 all the time?

    I do remember one of the attributes of the Android OS is that it can tone itself down... I just don't know how far that "normally" is.
     
  11. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I know with the kernel it will go as low as 250 if you keep hitting refresh you might see that. What it is before the kernel I have no clue.
     
  12. windstrings

    windstrings Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ratings:
    +0

    You'd think there was an app out there that would measure response time.. similar to HDtach for hardrives.

    I don't know how tricky it would be to make it accurate since it would be measuring latency times from the same cpu that it runs off itself....

    Don't know.....