Quick Question

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by AmericanNomads, May 17, 2010.

  1. AmericanNomads
    Offline

    AmericanNomads New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    So everyone says wipe, usually 2 or 3x but when you install via ROM Manager you cant wipe multiple times, or atleast I didnt know you could. Im just curious what people think of that
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    its just a precaution to make sure NOTHING is left behind before a fresh install

    i dont know how many people actually do but I never did more than once and its worked fine for me - really if theres any problems why not just go back and redo the process again
  3. listenman20
    Offline

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    they don't do it via the rom manager.....they may select to reboot into recovery from rom manager but thats where they select to wipe everything more than once.
  4. 666ogre666
    Offline

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Why would you need to wipe more then once if its not physical memory?
  5. justjosh
    Offline

    justjosh New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    X2

    People who say to wipe more than once are wasting time.
  6. Logan3824
    Offline

    Logan3824 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I don't see what the point of wiping more than once...It can't hurt but meh.
  7. goingcrazzy
    Offline

    goingcrazzy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes you are wright you cant whipe more than once with rom man
    if you will notis doing a data and cash whipe doesent realy whipe anything
    as after you do a data and cash whipe the phone will still boot the rom is still thir . this only whipes the extra data, programs or anything that was installed after the rom was flashed i say flashed because this is like a bios on a computer you cant realy delete it

    the first whipe will kill the paths and cash of programs installed the secound whipe insures that the cash for all the basic rom programs is cleared doing a third whipe i see no differance this is mostlikely just a wast of time. i have also done a install and before reboot done a whipe data and cash this seams to take longer to boot this also seames to fix some little things fc and so on as i realy dont thing it whips everything