Quick Question on Overclocking at 1.2

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by TheBuffaloBills, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. TheBuffaloBills
    Offline

    TheBuffaloBills New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, so I bought the sholes 5 dollar donation app a week ago. I just updated to 2.0.5 and did the recommended quit. Now, I'm lost. Do I restart the droid? I went to the PC speed, and the highest frequency I can go is still 1.0. What more do I have to do? Thanks, and I know I'm a newb.
  2. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    If you hit quit then you didn't update to 2.0.5...... you need to hit continue and flash the ROM.
  3. gnmitchell
    Offline

    gnmitchell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you mean by did the recommended quit? Did you run the SMUpdater in your apps folder?
  4. TheBuffaloBills
    Offline

    TheBuffaloBills New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I didn't. How do I do that?
  5. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Remember, SMUpdater recommends not running it, so each of the recommended options will exit the program.
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
  8. gnmitchell
    Offline

    gnmitchell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to go to the sholesmod site first to make sure you have the latest version. After you do that, you go into apps on your droid and select SM Updater. It will then go through process of rebooting/creating a new backup then go through their install menu
  9. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I have to ask, what did you think would happen when you hit 'quit'? Open the SholesMod app, choose the 2.0.5 ROM, and hit flash.
  10. gnmitchell
    Offline

    gnmitchell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm all for helping people, but based on the lack of understanding in his post, I'm not so confident that he actually rooted anything. It's like taking car advice from someone who tells you you need more water in your gas tank to make your car go...

    I think he downloaded 2.0.5, and then quit before the tar was unpacked and the rom was flashed.
  12. TheBuffaloBills
    Offline

    TheBuffaloBills New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very true, but I had it rooted originally by someone else. All I need is the update. So its more like I had a car stereo professionally installed, now I just need to learn how to work the controls.
  13. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fair enough -- if you're rooted, then you need to download the SetCPU app from the marketplace for $0.99.

    From there, find a thread on speeds and profiles, and make sure you tell SetCPU to autodetect your processor and kernel so you have access to all of the slots made available by SMU.

    Edit -- I'm still not sure if I understand, but it's me, not you. If you are already running 2.0.5, then do the above, and if you havent, then run SMU, and follow the steps in the second link I posted awhile back. You'll basically be doing all of the options that arent recommended. Just read the SMU guide -- it'll make sense.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010