Quick question aboiut Root/OTA Updates

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ark(i)tek, May 2, 2011.

  1. ark(i)tek

    ark(i)tek Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,
    I have an original droid by Motorola - rooted with Froyo installed (FRG01B).
    I may need to take this into Verizon to get it looked at (having some geolocation problems and the phone sometimes isn't working right).
    My question is this:

    If I backup the phone using the nandroid backup, could I get the OTA update from Verizon - take the phone in and then use the backup to get back to the configuration I have on there now - or do I need to root the phone all over again, etc.?

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  2. ark(i)tek

    ark(i)tek Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help?

    Just bumping this since I never got an answer.....
     
  3. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    If you go back to unrooted stock then you have to reflash recovery, reroot, then you should be able to restore a backup. Might be a good idea to copy your sdcard to your computer and format sdcard as well. This should erase most if not all traces of being rooted.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. ark(i)tek

    ark(i)tek Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks RCK76 - so I basically need to do my backup - then copy everything off the the droid - go back to stock and then take the phone into verizon. I would then start the whole rooting process over again and once done use the backup to restore to the last settings before I un-rooted.
    Can I get to un-rooted status by using the backup I made before the phone was rooted?
     
  5. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Potentially yes. How did you root? Did you use link one in my signature? If so, if you backed up before you applied update.zip it will return you to stock with stock recovery.

    You should also wait to receive the OTA for 2.2.2 because they for sure will ask why you are still 3 updates behind.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. ark(i)tek

    ark(i)tek Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I forgot how I rooted actually - it's been quite a while. I did make a backup of my original non-rooted configuration though and have made a backup every time I updated the OS.
     
  7. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    So give it a shot. You should have a clean app drawer (no superuser app).

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk