Quick, kind of urgent ??

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by denakisland, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. denakisland

    denakisland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pacific NW. Not so North and not so West.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted (yay?) and am attempting to flash the PlainJaneT2 rom and it's telling me it can't open it (bad). What do I do from here? Can I reboot without a rom installed? I did try to flash it twice and it definitely won't let me!
     
  2. vacobra1

    vacobra1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Redownload it and try it again or better yet download the Kaosfroyo v29 2.2.
     
  3. denakisland

    denakisland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pacific NW. Not so North and not so West.
    Ratings:
    +0
    But I'm in the A. System Recovery screen and don't know if I can reboot the system from here and will it be ok? Ya know, since there is no rom on it.
     
  4. vacobra1

    vacobra1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you wont have to reboot it you can mount it to you computer from recovery and coppy the room to your phone then install and reboot.
     
  5. vacobra1

    vacobra1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    in recover its usb-ms toggle just click it and it will mount to your computer then install the file and click the scroll button and it will unmount.
     
  6. denakisland

    denakisland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pacific NW. Not so North and not so West.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well... I went ahead and rebooted the system without a rom. I downloaded the plainjane again and it did the same thing. Oh well. I did get the bloat rom loaded and *goodbye* crap! I will cruise different roms to see what I might like, even though I really liked the sound of Plain Jane T2. *shrugs* oh well. I'm still rooted so I can cruise freely for what I like and what might work.
     
  7. vacobra1

    vacobra1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. denakisland

    denakisland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pacific NW. Not so North and not so West.
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you like about it?
     
  9. vacobra1

    vacobra1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    everything, its faster, smoother, better functions. I like the phone layout better its easier to access your contacts, the key board is better and the quick display for words is much nicer. Do you have setcpu? You just have more flexability with your phone, also I like the camera much better then the 2.1. I could never go back to 2.1 now.
     
  10. denakisland

    denakisland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pacific NW. Not so North and not so West.
    Ratings:
    +0
    but it doesn't have sense ui, right? I'm such a fan of it. It's why I LIKE htc. That's why I was all excited about the other one. Oh well, I'll search later when I have time. At least my phone functions perfectly normal. I wasn't sure it would have without a custom rom.
     
  11. vacobra1

    vacobra1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only thing I miss is the weather widget and I downloaded one just like it.
     
  12. denakisland

    denakisland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pacific NW. Not so North and not so West.
    Ratings:
    +0
    So... I believe this should be my last question and then I'll be a pro, right? lol
    Is there anything special I need to do to flash a new rom? Do I need to to a backup or something before every one? Is it dependent on the individual rom? What if I don't like it? How do you go back to where you were before the rom? I think I know the answer to that one, but I'd like someone to tell me just in case I'm WAY off base!
    Thanks!

    (Ok, so that was more than one last question... go figure)