Quick boot?

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by manningfan10, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. manningfan10

    manningfan10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I the only one who has it checked to be on but never seen it work? It still takes 2 stone ages to turn on, better than my rooted OG DROID but I was really lookin forwrd to the speedy quick boot....
     
  2. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Doesn't work for me either.
    Traded out devices, still no go. Do you have 4g coverage, because I don't.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  3. manningfan10

    manningfan10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I don't have 4G where I am. Hopefully this will just be fixed in the next update or maybe there's something we r missing lol
     
  4. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Im almost certain it has something to do with not having LTE signal and the phone searching for it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  5. manningfan10

    manningfan10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    why would this have anything to do with the quick boot?
     
  6. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not sure why, but I'm pretty confident that's it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  7. sportadic22

    sportadic22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it didnt do anything for me either on the first few times.. but this morning i rebooted..and it was sooooooooo damn quick.. made a lightning sound and then bamn main homepage.
     
  8. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you have 4g coverage?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  9. Jacob9424

    Jacob9424 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, the quick boot should work regardless if you have 4g or 3g data connection. When you were trying it out did you click the "restart" or the actual "turn off" button? quick boot puts the phone into a sleep mode when it is shut down so it can be booted back up quickly, much like a sleeping windows 7 computer. If you were to press "shut down" it will then go to that sleep mode, but pressing "restart" will tell the phone to completely shut down and reboot like a windows 7 computer would do if you were to restart it rather than just closing the lid.
     
  10. guitarchris123

    guitarchris123 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not the only one. I had one decent reboot, and 2 that were super slow. It almost seemed to freeze up after the intro animation with the TBolt and sound effects, then went to the background screen, but blank. Eventually it came out of it, but it freaked me out. Not sure if this is a problem, a setting I have/don't have selected, something that needs to be updated, or what...

    I'm not in an LTE area either, but I don't see why that would have anything to do with it. My phone hasn't been searching for 4G at all since I've had it, from what I can tell.

    Thanks for the tip, I was unaware of that. Good to know! Also, selecting the restart option and rebooting drains a decent chunk of battery life, and after reading the above, I assume that selecting shut down instead and then bringing power back up would not take as much. But I'm also assuming that since its kind of like sleep mode that everything is still running in the background the whole time, while restarting will bring the system up fresh upon reboot.
     
  11. manningfan10

    manningfan10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have done it from restarting and it still doesn't work.....

    Sent from my HTC THUNDERBOLT using Tapatalk
     
  12. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hah, I got quick boot to work. Restarting for me was slow even with quick boot enabled. I just shut off the phone (which I never do) and turned it on, in less than 5 seconds I was at my main screen. SO COOL. :D :icon_ banana:
     
  13. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1

    Ive been powering off not restarting, and no fast boot.... Got it checked in power options and app options. It worked when I was at the airport with 4g coverage...
    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  14. sms160

    sms160 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    This worked for me.
     
  15. manningfan10

    manningfan10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    omg, wth? this just worked for me too lol, no 4g
     
Search tags for this page
htc thunderbolt doesn't boot
,
what is enable quick boot on android
,

what is quick boot android

,
what is quick boot on android phone
,
what is quickboot on htc dna