Questions re unrooting and the OTA update to Froyo

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by xliderider, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    I'm running a custom 2.1 rom now. I would like to unroot my Droid to get the OTA update to 2.2 when it comes out.

    I see that I can install an unrooted stock 2.01 rom through rom manager. Will I get the update to 2.2 if I leave my Droid at 2.01, or do I have to go to 2.1? Also, can I just do Menu, Settings, About, Check For Updates to get to 2.1?

    Thanks. :)
  2. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ah, I fully expected these questions. ;)

    I did, and all the other froyo roms out there. Every single one causes my Droid to freeze, lag, and become totally unresponsive. I wipe data and cache 3 times before installing all roms, but same result every time.

    Therefore, I want to be totally stock when I load the official OTA update to 2.2.

    Then I will go to Verizon and get a replacement Droid under warranty. I couldn't take my Droid in till the official 2.2 came out and tell them "I need another Droid, because this one wont run 2.2". ;)
  4. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds like it could be a kernel problem.
    I have had problems with some of the ULV kernels and LV kernels.
    I just installed the P3 Standard Voltage kernel a few days ago.
    Running it at Max 550MHz Min 125MHz and 0 problems.
    I'm running the stock FRG01B from my instructions.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 29, 2010
  5. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Thanks for the unroot, sbf instructions. :)

    I have tried many different kernels, including standard voltage kernels. No difference as far as the freezing, FCs and unresponsive screens. :(
  6. tCub
    Offline

    tCub New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    olmsted falls OH
    I just did this on Saturday, worked okay however I wasn't receiving any OTA updates. Possibly due to the upcoming 2.2 update coming tomorrow(!)..

    Keep us updated as to whether or not they work for you.

    Keep in mind if you don't get the OTA updates, you'll need to 2.1. I had to do this because I started at 2.0 anyway... Good luck!
  7. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  8. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Can I just use the above procedure to flash the ESE81 sbf file from here to get to 2.1 direct?

    Peter Alfonso: Downloads

    I'm assuming by doing that I will be unrooted and lose any custom recovery (SPRecovery/CW Mod recovery), which is bone stock like I want to be?
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 29, 2010
  9. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    To truly get back to stock 2.1 with the stock recovery you'll have to flash the 2.0.1 sbf, then update to 2.1...the 2.1 ota probably won't hit automatically now, but I know dmartins has a link for that, too, that I can't easily get to since I'm using tapatalk.

    Just out of curiosity, when you tried anything 2.2, did you give it a good 30 minutes to 1 hour to sync up and everything? I know it can be pretty laggy at first.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Deleted double post...
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
  11. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    30 minutes, yes. 1 hour, no. I'm not that patient. ;)

    Can it be in standby for that hour? And do I have to bump up my low end cpu speed setting in setcpu to keep it from locking up?

    Sometimes my Droid reboots when I leave it in standby to sync the contacts and apps. Sometimes the droid freezes right on the Google sign-in screen, when it has the Finish button. I press the Finish button, and the screen is already locked up and doesn't respond. :(
  12. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ok, I try FRG01B one more time an let it marinate for an hour. It will be really hard, but I'll give it a shot.
  13. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Well, I'll be durned. It seems to have worked. :) I'm on FRG01B 2.2 woohoo. :D

    I left the Droid alone for about 30 minutes before I couldn't resist picking it up and checking it. It did spontaneously reboot at the 20 minute mark though.

    So far, everything is smooth, nothing like previous attempts. For some reason though I loaded an 800mhz P3 kernel but my setcpu is only showing 600mhz Max. Yes, I did select autodetect.

    Oh well, I'll make a backup and try reloading the kernel. Thanks for the advice.
  14. Jejackson
    Offline

    Jejackson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know if anyone is still reading this right now but i'm curious,

    xliderider, did your droid screen ever go completely blank from rooted froyo rom? I'm in the middle of DLing the 2.0.1 sbf to see if reflashing this will save my phone...or at least make it a valid return to Verizon
  15. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Yes it did, many times. A battery pull and a reboot into recovery (Power on while holding down the X key) is all it takes to reset. You do have some nandroid backups to fall back on, right?

    On the other front, I made a backup and loaded another kernel, and I still get 600mhz max CPU speed. Then I got the dreaded screen freezing and lagging and unresponsiveness again. Have to go back to 2.1 till I can figure this out.
  16. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Missed a lot of this over night - glad you were able to get it working to a certain extent, anyway. The kernel that came with it was a p3 kernel, so you might try a few different ones of his and see. P3Droid Kernels

    The setcpu thing is weird, unless you somehow lost root access, which I've heard of happening occasionally. I followed THIS and have had zero issues, but hey, every phone is different. Props for at least giving it another go! :)
  17. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Well I did it, I flashed the ESE56 sbf file with RSD Lite. That was a little nerve wracking. I kept worrying that something would go wrong, must be from my days with RIM/Blackberry. :D :cool:

    After applying the update.zip I have ESE81 now. The Baseband is C_01.3E.03P. Should I leave the baseband there, or should I do any of the baseband updates? Thoughts?
  18. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    if you do the baseband updates, you'll have to root again
  19. Jejackson
    Offline

    Jejackson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My first attempt at rooting was successful but I didn't back up anything, my screen went blank a week later and NOTHING fixed it. I did a blind unroot back to 2.0.1 that I know was successful because RSD told me it was but it did not fix my problem. Verizon is exchanging my phone and hopefully it will be here tomorrow.
  20. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The OTA of 2.2 has the newest baseband included.
    It doesn't require you to be rooted.(SPRecovery)
Search tags for this page

ota android update unrooted my nexus phone