Questions about travelling overseas w/ Bionic

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by grammerpolice, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. grammerpolice
    Offline

    grammerpolice New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking at travelling to Europe this summer and want to take my Bionic with me. I would like to turn off the mobile network and just use WiFi while I am over there.

    Is it possible to turn off the mobile network completely while I am overseas? When I go into the network settings I only see options to turn on/off wifi and choosing between cdma/lte+cdma.

    I have Skype credits and that's what I am planning on using while over there in conjunction with email + Google Voice. Would the best way to go about this be to put my phone into airplane mode and then just activate the wifi? I know this is a silly question, but I wanted to be totally sure before I rack up a $1,000 phone bill.

    Thanks!
  2. barrmy
    Offline

    barrmy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last time i was abroad, I called them up and they suspended data while i was travelling... Phone/mms worked (in cdma areas/countries) and wifi was fine
  3. TOMMYBOT
    Offline

    TOMMYBOT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    On my DROID x when I went to england I did just what you said. I used a data switch from the app market and just turned on wiring no charges for me

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Airplane mode works well to give you wifi only - no cell connections. I just did that around Europe.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012
  5. grammerpolice
    Offline

    grammerpolice New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your replies, everyone. I think I'll just put it into airplane mode while I'm over there. :)
Search tags for this page

can i use droid bionic in europe

,

can i use my droid bionic in europe

,
can i use the droid bionic in europe
,

droid bionic europe

,
droid bionic in europe
,

droid bionic international

,

droid bionic international use

,

droid bionic overseas

,

droid bionic use in europe

,
using droid bionic in europe