Questions about transferring Verizon service from my OG Droid to a new OG Droid.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by droidDB, Mar 27, 2012.

  1. droidDB
    Offline

    droidDB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Hello All,

    Before I decide to just upgrade to a Droid 3, I had a question or two. The digitizer on my current OG Droid is driving me crazy. Repairing it is Plan C. Plan B is upgrading to the Droid 3. Plan A is as follows: If I decided to buy a new Droid A855 (through Amazon), does anyone know what I would have to do to transfer service from my current A855 to the new one? The possible advantage to this is not having to renew my contract (which has expired), which I would obviously have to do if I upgrade to the Droid 3. I don't know that I wouldn't have to renew my contract in either case, so I am asking if anyone knows the answer to that as well. Any input is appreciated, as long as it's constructive. ;) Thanks.
  2. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can either:

    1.) Log into My Verizon and enter the MEID number to active the phone
    2.) Call Verizon and have them activate it for you

    If you buy a phone unlocked it will not extend your contract.
  3. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Buy the newer og Droid, power off your old one, dial *228 on the new one, and it will activate. If you have a family plan then just enter the number you want it activated on.
  4. droidDB
    Offline

    droidDB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Thank you both for the quick response. I appreciate the information.
  5. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Let us know if you have any issues.
  6. Jungle King 76
    Offline

    Jungle King 76 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    You have to assign the meid number to your line first just as tjk mentioned first, then dial *228.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Purple Tapatalk
  7. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I didn't have to when switching between 3g phones. I did it the way I mentioned with no issues.
  8. droidDB
    Offline

    droidDB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    I'll be ordering the new OG Droid this weekend, at the latest. I'll post back and let everyone know the activation goes. I appreciate all the replies. Thanks.
  9. Dave Lister
    Offline

    Dave Lister New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is old information. For over a year now, the *228 system has had the capability of transferring service to a new phone automatically as long as there is no feature or plan change required. All you need are the phone # and last 4 of account holder's SSN (or account password if there is one).
  10. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Actually, if I may add, the way I remember it is you dial *228 and select option 3. Then enter the phone number you wish to activate to and the last four of your SS#.

    good luck
  11. Dave Lister
    Offline

    Dave Lister New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Option 3 no longer exists. It's done through option 1, the same as doing the initial OTA programming.
  12. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Goes to show how long it's been for me. Thanks for the update.
  13. droidDB
    Offline

    droidDB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Just to update everyone, as I said that I would, I received the phone this weekend. The process was simply making the phone call on the new phone in order to activate it. I only needed to provide the phone number that the service was for, and the last four digits of my SS. Quite painless. Thanks for the replies, everyone!
  14. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Thanks for the follow up!
  15. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    x2. Most don't even bother. Thanks.
  16. droidDB
    Offline

    droidDB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Really, there's no need to thank me for such a simple courtesy. ;) As much assistance and information as I have received from this forum, it's the very least I could do. Thanks again for the help.
  17. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Actually at least 90% of the time nobody follows up. So we're left to wonder if they got it fixed, or if so how, or if they are like so many who expect replies within 15 minutes and when none are forthcoming get mad and sulk off.
  18. droidDB
    Offline

    droidDB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    I'm surprised by that, but I guess I shouldn't be. I'll be sure to keep that in mind if I should ask for any other help. So far, all is going well with the new A855. :)
  19. droidDB
    Offline

    droidDB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    By the way, teddyearp, I read your Motorola A855 Guides. Good stuff.
  20. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Thank you. I started them way way back about the time the phone was released, before rootyourdroid.info and the host of others. I just never made as much noise about them.
Search tags for this page

can i transfer verizon service to a used phone

,

how do i tranfer service with my droid phone over to a iphon

,

how do i transfer my phone number to a galaxy s3 verizon

,

how do i transfer service from one verizon phone to another

,
how to change meid number on motorola droid x
,
how to transfer verizon phone number to the droid razor
,
how to transfer your phone number to a used phone
,

i broke my motorola droid, can i transfer service to a new p

,
switch service to droid x2
,
switching service between droids
,
transfer service from one verizon customer to another
,

transfer verizon service to new phone