Questions about rooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by random190user44, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know nothing about rooting or loading custom ROMs on an Android phone so sorry if these questions sound stupid/obvious.

    1. If I root my phone, do I have to install a custom ROM to it?

    2. If I root my phone, will that prevent me from receiving an OTA update?

    3. Is it possible to root your phone, and only enable wireless tethering without installling a custom ROM? (i just want to root my phone for wifi tethering, and cpu over/underclocking)
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you do not have to install a custom rom when you root

    It shouldn't prevent you from receiving an ota as long as you don't remove bloat

    Edit: oh and yeah you can wireless tether without a rom there are several apps available in the marketplace.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. BalistikBill

    BalistikBill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will add though that when you do install a ROM you'll never want to go back to the stock moto version. I just had to do this recently and felt the pain, let me tell you! It's a very easy process.
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good point.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    the thing im most scared about is accidentally screwing something up and bricking my phone. does this happen often to people?

    also : is the sticky at the top of this forum section a good and safe method to try?
     
  6. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its actually pretty hard to brick it as long as you follow all the directions closely.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, so aside from bricking my phone, is it possible/likely that i could accidentally wipe most/all of my personal data on my phone?
     
  8. azpilot

    azpilot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Some podunk town, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess it's possible like everything else to toast your droid but it would be pretty hard. I have screwed mine up pretty good, a nandroid restore fixed it everytime.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    can one of you recommend me the best method to root your droid then? i want to try it
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you root, probably not. When you add a rom you will have to wipe data and cahe but that's what titanium is for

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're comfortable with that one then yeah probably. I used the no computer method in the terminal emulator on the phone because I like the hands on aspect but whatever works for you really.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App