Questions about rooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by markml0528, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I know nothing about rooting or loading custom ROMs on an Android phone so sorry if these questions sound stupid/obvious.

    1. If I root my phone, do I have to install a custom ROM to it?

    2. If I root my phone, will that prevent me from receiving an OTA update?

    3. Is it possible to root your phone, and only enable wireless tethering without installling a custom ROM? (i just want to root my phone for wifi tethering, and cpu over/underclocking)
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    No you do not have to install a custom rom when you root

    It shouldn't prevent you from receiving an ota as long as you don't remove bloat

    Edit: oh and yeah you can wireless tether without a rom there are several apps available in the marketplace.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. BalistikBill
    Offline

    BalistikBill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I will add though that when you do install a ROM you'll never want to go back to the stock moto version. I just had to do this recently and felt the pain, let me tell you! It's a very easy process.
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Good point.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    the thing im most scared about is accidentally screwing something up and bricking my phone. does this happen often to people?

    also : is the sticky at the top of this forum section a good and safe method to try?
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Its actually pretty hard to brick it as long as you follow all the directions closely.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    ok, so aside from bricking my phone, is it possible/likely that i could accidentally wipe most/all of my personal data on my phone?
  8. azpilot
    Offline

    azpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Some podunk town, Arizona
    I guess it's possible like everything else to toast your droid but it would be pretty hard. I have screwed mine up pretty good, a nandroid restore fixed it everytime.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    can one of you recommend me the best method to root your droid then? i want to try it
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    When you root, probably not. When you add a rom you will have to wipe data and cahe but that's what titanium is for

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  11. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    If you're comfortable with that one then yeah probably. I used the no computer method in the terminal emulator on the phone because I like the hands on aspect but whatever works for you really.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  13. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    i just watched the how to video on that method. it looks really confusing. was the root method that you did easy?
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Like I said I had to handle all of the operations myself in the terminal emulator so I would say it would be more difficult. Just take some time to familiarize yourself with all the steps and it should begin to make sense. Let me know if you have issues.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  15. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I finished successfully rooting my phone earlier today. The terminal emulator approach was a lot simpler than using the XDA developer method.