1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Questions About Root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Squeak87, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I am going to try to root my D2 using Pete's Root Tools, some people told the phone has to be in PC Mode to root and others say Charge Only Mode, can someone please clarify for me?
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    You should need to put it in charge only mode. That is how I always had to do it on my D2 and DX.
  3. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Alright thanks!
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No problem :biggrin:
  5. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I found a tutorial for rooting that suggests flashing back to GB 2.3.2 then doing the root, any suggestions?
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I am a bit out of the loop on rooting so seeing the tutorial wouldn't hurt so if you link me to it I will know better. But I do not think you should have to roll back to an older version, can't be sure until I see this tutorial though.
  7. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I was actually just using Google to learn how to flash Clockworkmod and it came up with a website that suggested using that method. If I can find the link again I will post it.
  8. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Definitely let me know. And like I said earlier you shouldn't have to go back to 2.3.2 to root but it may make more sense if you do happen to find the guide.
  9. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I'm gonna stick with the current method and tools for rooting. I am buying a USB 3.0 cable today to see if that was my issue with the rooting process.
  10. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Sounds good, hopefully it works out.
  11. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Unfortunately no stores in my area carry cables for my phone.
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    That would be the luck. I suppose they probably have them online somewhere but remember it was just a possible solution. Nor sure that it would do it.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  13. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    At this point I'm willing to try anything.
  14. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Does anyone know if you actually do need the same brand cable as your phone? I don't see why another cable wouldn't work if its compatible with the phone and the pc detects it right?
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Well so as people are not completely confused, this is the other part of the issue you are talking about now. Otherwise what you are asking does not really makes sense: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ne...sistance/202562-welcome-post.html#post2054795

    I have read more then one time where people switching to the factory cable helped but I am sure you will get mixed reviews, as I said it is not a definite. Have you tried anything like doing a factory reset or a different computer? Also, I know the D2G and DX both have recent updates that can not be rooted but I am not sure about the D2, have you gotten one lately?
  16. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I apologize for crossing questions on the thread. The only recent update I recieved is the Google Play Store.
  17. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No need to apologize, I knew because I was involved in both but others will likely not. Just thought I would help them and you out by throwing in the link. And I meant OS updates, I have not read about one for the D2 yet so I was just checking in case.
  18. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    No there haven't been any OS updates since I received the phone, it came running GB 2.3.3
  19. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    The root tutorial I am following says to make sure usb debugging icon is displaying in notifications. I am not totally sure what this icon looks like because nothing changes when I turn debugging on or off. Help?
  20. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just make sure its on. Don't worry about the icon.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums