Questions about Overclocking

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by MattyP, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    OK...rooted noob here, running a Droid 2, rooted, and I so love this phone. I originally rooted for the tethering feature, and I have been reading various posts and threads around the forum about overclocking. Sure I'd love to get a little better speed out of the phone, but I am a noob when it comes to voltages and settings, and I don't want to get stuck in a boot loop like some have posted about. My questions are:

    Whats the best settings to choose for a rooted Droid 2 running the stock ROM?

    Which is the better of the two apps, the one by "Jrummy" or the one by "Unstable"?

    How does overclocking affect battery life?

    I am proud to say that with all the apps I have installed on my phone, I still get AWESOME battery life, even with heavy internet usage and talking and texting. (I use SetCPU and an Appkiller to conserve battery) If I'm gonna get a little extra speed out of it, am I going to be sacrificing battery life?

    Thanks in advance for any help/answers.
     
  2. paulp04

    paulp04 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every phone is different. One setting on mine won't necessarily work on your phone.
    As far as apps... I don't know, I edit the files manually and activate in term.
    In most cases you can gain speed while even saving your battery life. I overclock and undervolt. Currently I'm stable at 1.2ghz with less voltage(0. 2 less).

    Sent via DROID X 2.2 rooted running Rubix Focused 1.0 on Verizon Wireless
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  4. mza929

    mza929 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i prefer...

    Jrummys... as of right now there is more apps.

    The great thing about the D2 overclockers is the fact that if you select a speed or voltage that your phone cannot handle, then you reboot and try another as the stock settings will be applied on a reboot.
    **** just remember, you need to test the speeds and voltages for some time before selecting the apply at boot option.****
     
  5. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Well I went ahead and sprung the .99 Cents for Jrummy's app, and so far I'm quite pleased. Have it set at low voltage and 1.3 GHz, no major temperature increase and no rebooting issues, and boy oh boy she's a blazin' little unit. Also, no major battery life loss either, and I have been using the phone, talking and surfing the web. Good on ya, Jrummy, nice app! dancedroid
     
  6. mza929

    mza929 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure u try the widget. It rocks.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Widget?? Can you elaborate? Haven't seen that... :)
     
  8. mza929

    mza929 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    well - if you have jrummys app (and it is updated) you now have a widget option to place on your home screen. It takes up 2 (next to each other)spots and looks awesome. Shows min max and temps etc.

    [​IMG]
     
    #8 mza929, Oct 30, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  9. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Thanks mza929... thats way cool... although I DID look through every setting in the app before it dawned on me that you meant by adding the widget by long press on the screen, *Brain Fart* :icon_eek:

    Thanks!