question???!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by roezario, May 28, 2011.

  1. roezario
    Offline

    roezario New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello fellow droid community I have a slight problem.

    My problem is this. The touch screen on my D2G just died. I could see picture but get no response. I tried everything. It would come and go in patches. In its final hours i was able to unroot my phone (z4). I then proceed to hard reset everything back to default.


    When i went to verizon he put in the submission for a new phone under motorola Warrenty. new phone arrives wednesday.

    Im not worried about the touch screen that is fixable. When i rooted my phone i removed quite a few of the bs "undeletable" applications and ads ect.

    Its my understanding that when you reset the phone back to default all of my apps are gone.


    my question is does it RETURN the applications i deleted. if so thats great. Also will they know that i rooted it?


    Any help or threads on the subject would be most greatful. I tried my best to research but failed i guess.
     
  2. Kimo91
    Online

    Kimo91 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    To my understanding the preloaded apps that people delete on a rooted device won't come back even after a factory reset. Last time I had to send my Droid 2 back I SBF'd my phone,did the OTA update to put Verizon's crap back on the phone and sent it back after my replacement showed up because the touch screen started acting up.

    Since getting a brand new Droid 2 Global from asurion cause of a shattered screen I noticed the touchscreen is sensitive where I barely touch the screen and apps open up.

    If its not Boeing, I'm not going! Team Boeing ROCKS!!!
     
  3. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Factory reset won't restore those apps. You have to sbf.

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  4. roezario
    Offline

    roezario New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so i followed thread for Sbf on the droid hacks forum...but anytime i go try to unpack the sbf file...with winrar or 7zip i it says its corrupt. Am I missing something? I cant get the SBF to unpack without error :/


    any ideas?
     
  5. cutiedroid
    Offline

    cutiedroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    the sensitivity of the screen has always been my problem. I swear if your fingers are hotter than normal that you can open an app without actuality touching the screen, just let them hover above.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums using SlideIT
     
  6. Kimo91
    Online

    Kimo91 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Are you downloading the files on your computer or phone? As far as I know, you need a computer to SBF your phone

    If its not Boeing, I'm not going! Team Boeing ROCKS!!!
     
  7. volsfan1965
    Offline

    volsfan1965 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You dont have to unpack anything. install rsdlite 4.9 on your computer, put the sbf file you downloaded on your computer, make sure you have updated drivers for your phone on your computer, find the step by step instructions for sbf'ing for your phone, should be a stickie in the forum for your phone.
     
  8. roezario
    Offline

    roezario New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My post must not have been specific enough. When I download the SBF file its in .zip format. RSDlite recognizes this?

    I was under the impression that RSDlite only recognized .sbf files which is my delimma.


    Charging my phone back up to try just loading it as is...I downloaded both from the stickies....one is .rar and the other is .zip.
     
  9. slimpirudude
    Offline

    slimpirudude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Roezario

    When you download the sbf file from the sticky it is zipped and compressed. Meaning, you HAVE to unzip it, pull out the .sbf file and load that into rsdlite. I had to sbf week and half ago so I went through same ****. Rsdlite will not succesfuly flash the file untill you uncompress and unzip. Inside the .zip (which I extracted with winrar) there should be one file with sbf extention. That my friend is all you need. The rar is useless after extract sbf. Good luck!

    Sent from my ANGELLIC DROID 2 GLOBAL
     
  10. roezario
    Offline

    roezario New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I understand the unzip part...its just that when i do it winrar says its corrupted...i redownloaded....and got the same thing. You still have your sbf? make a torrent!
     
  11. roezario
    Offline

    roezario New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    got the .zip to work. The .rar was broken though.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global calibrate touch screen

,
how to reset touchscreen of driod 2