1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

-QUESTION- Switching Droid RAZR To G S III

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by CSteffel21, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. CSteffel21
    Offline

    CSteffel21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering If I could Just switch phones by using the SIM cards ?

    My mother has the Galaxy S III and she doesn't like it that much , I also have the Droid RAZR and I'd like to have the Galaxy .
    Is there anyway I could just pull out my SIM card and put it in hers and she does the same vise versa ?
    Tell me everything you all know(:)

    THANKS In Advance:)
  2. Miller6386
    Offline

    Miller6386 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    You will still need to call VZW and have them switch the ESN's..... Also you may want to look at them and verify they are the same SIM.... I believe they are......
  3. CSteffel21
    Offline

    CSteffel21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I always thought like lets think of it this way ,
    My phone doesn't work , I put my SIM card into a friends phone to call my people ? I'd still need to Call VZW ?

    And would it void the warranty ???
    If I would happen to do this ??
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond RS Lead Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,518
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Found this on Verizon's website FAQs:
    Can I use my Verizon Wireless 4G SIM in more than one device?
    Yes; the Verizon Wireless 4G SIM card contains all of your subscriber information, so the SIM card is portable and can be used in any Verizon Wireless-certified 4G device. All usage will be billed to the account associated with the 4G SIM card.


    Remember that you'll have to save your contacts onto the SIM and not just have it tied to your Google account otherwise you'd have to log into your Google account on your friends' phone. As for warranty I've been told different things by different reps. One said "changing ownership of the device" voids the warranty, but they usually overlook it and will grant any warranty exchange anyway.
    1 person likes this.
  5. CSteffel21
    Offline

    CSteffel21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Soo , My phone number and everything from the SIM card in my Droid RAZR , I'll be able to use it on my Mothers Galaxy S III ?


    Found out how to Store them . Lol

    But is it possible to switch phones just by switching SIM cards into each others phones ???
    All I'm asking . I hope I don't have to contact them or anything .. :/
  6. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond RS Lead Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,518
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    try the app "contact to sim" or something along those lines. I never did it, but I've heard those work.
  7. CSteffel21
    Offline

    CSteffel21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alrighty , I'll just use backup assistant or Google .

    So would it work if I could basically switch phones ?? My SIM card into my mothers phone and my mothers SIM card into my phone ?? Would that work ???
  8. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond RS Lead Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,518
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    As posted in my first response, yes it should.
  9. CSteffel21
    Offline

    CSteffel21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well thanks for the support:)

    Hope this shindig works !
  10. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond RS Lead Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,518
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Np. If it doesn't work right away, call verizon and they can sort it out for ya in a few minutes I bet. Make sure to use a landline.
  11. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    It will work just fine. I did it from the Razr Maxx to the S3 to the Maxx HD without issue. You do NOT need to contact Verizon
Search tags for this page

does it cost anything to switch from a galaxy s phone to a d

,

forum razr i gs

,

if i switch from razr to galaxy s4 do i need a new sim card