Question regarding tethering...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by nerdslogic, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    I set up a buddies "X" and installed Barnacle but that is as close as I have gotten to getting his tethering to work. What do I need to do?

    Also "RealHDMI"....does it work on the "X"?

    Sent from a Liberated Droid 2 using the DF app.
     
  2. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anybody?

    Sent from a Liberated Droid 2 using the DF app.
     
  3. ClumsyNinja21

    ClumsyNinja21 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Real HDMI works fine.
    As for tethering, I have only used the wireless tether for root users so I can't comment on barnacle or anything like it. I used pda net for my d1 when I was not rooted and that worked.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. chris215

    chris215 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also used PDAnet prior to root. Worked fine.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wireless tether.....ok.....how about that

    Sent from a Liberated Droid 2 using the DF app.
     
  6. chris215

    chris215 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your rooted, you might as well use the patch for the 3G hotspot app. However, wireless tether does work well also. Only trouble with it is, your setting your computer up through adhoc, which uses a lot of battery.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. samiusmc

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just download the wifi tether app for free from the market. That's all you need to do to tether on the Droid 2.
     
  8. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see .