Question Regarding Taking Screenshots

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by Willio, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. Willio
    Offline

    Willio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello.

    I've had this phone for a little over a month and just recently decided it was a good idea to figure out how to take screenshots. The various how-tos out there are very straightforward, but I am running into a bit of trouble.

    What I've done so far:

    • Installed Java developer kit
    • Extracted Android SKE and have have installed the various packages there are to be installed.
    • Have phone running with USB Debugging on and on PC mode.
    My problem seems to be with updating the USB driver on the device. The various ones out there do not seem to work. When I try to update the drivers Windows says it cannot update the phone, even though I have the recommended files from the guide I was following. I'd post the link of the guide I'm using, but I'm not sure if it's okay or if it'd be considered advertising, so I'm just going to play it safe and not link to it. Is there anything I'm doing wrong or missing? I'm running Froyo on the phone, if that's of any assistance.

    Thanks.
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    If you're rooted you can use a screen shot app like drocap2.
  3. Willio
    Offline

    Willio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I see. The thing is that I'm not really that savvy with the Droid X yet and don't want to screw anything up. It's something I've considered, but decided not to do at this time.
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Don't blame you. :)

    Just offering it as a solution to the problem. It's much more convenient and doesn't require a PC connection. The down side is you have to root in order to do it.
  5. Willio
    Offline

    Willio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah. Well, I can always wait until I decide to root the device before taking screenshots, it just makes me wonder why there can't be an app for unrooted devices. Thanks for your assistance, though. Any suggestions are appreciated.
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Home++ in the marketplace will allow you to take screenshots of your homescreen but nothing else and doesn't require root. That's about your only in phone option till/if you root

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. WsW-WYATT-EARP
    Offline

    WsW-WYATT-EARP New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEastern Wisconsin
    If your considering rooting- then its just a matter of time. I considered it for just over a week and did it. More for the added apps and control. Not worried about rims or anything ....... yet

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

    My DROID beat-up your iphone