Question regarding overclocking/customizing

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by RevInstant, Aug 16, 2010.

1. RevInstant

RevInstant New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi! I'm pretty new to the whole root/modding scene with Android but I wanted to know if someone would mind giving me a pretty simplified explanation or post an faq on how to oc bb0.4 on a Droid running 2.2. I successfully installed the rom and its set for 800mhz and I wanted to try out 1ghz or possibly 1.1. My other questions would be is 1.1 safe? And how can I mod the colors for my notification bar, Id like to make it black.

2. Tallica

Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

Ratings:
    +1
    If you are running BB v0.4 then all yo need to do is d/l a kernal and install as an update.zip, no wipe. The Rom will auotmatically OC to the highest slot as the max and 250 mhz slot to the min. It uses ondemand scalling, which seems to be the standard for performance and batt life.

here are some great ones to try: [8-1-2010] New Froyo Kernels - CPU Temp Monitoring is Back!

As for which one, it depends on your phone, everyone is slightly different, so you have to experiment to see what runs on yours the best.

Good luck

Edit: Look in the themes sections for all themes and changes for BB 0.4 and other Roms

3. RevInstant

RevInstant New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I tried Chevy ulv 1.2 and 1.1 and my phone restarted, ran for about a minute and rebooted so I had to quickly dl rom manager and reflash my backup. Does this mean my phone can't handle those speeds because I see other Droid users running that?

Edit: Also is it normal for all of my apps/wallpapers to be gone if I install a kernel?

4. cupfulloflol

cupfulloflol Senior Member

Ratings:
    +23