1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Question Regarding coverage in Puerto Rico

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Slntagent, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. Slntagent
    Offline

    Slntagent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone that has come to PR lately have an issue getting 3G coverage? i barely get a signal to begin with...curious to know if its my phone or just how the network is here?

    By the way ive traveled from San Juan to Ponce, same thing
  2. Slntagent
    Offline

    Slntagent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well im leaving sat..hopefully someone can let me know if im the only one not getting 3g or if its everyone..hope nothing is wrong w my phone
  3. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    You on vacation in PR? If so, why you worried about your phone at all, shouldn't you be full of Bacardi? lol
    I wish I had an answer for you.
  4. Slntagent
    Offline

    Slntagent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    lol im still drinking but...i use my phone to communicate with family i have all over the island...so having a unreliable conn sucks
  5. gfellow
    Offline

    gfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just arrived in PR. I can receive and send phone calls, but all internet access is dead unless I find a wireless point
  6. gsridge
    Offline

    gsridge New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Puerto Rico 3G coverage

    Got off cruise ship and headed east toward town. Continued along waterfront and in front of PR Tourism Bldg was a sign for wi fi hotspot. Took a little while but was able to catch up on emails etc. Also tried in St Thomas at a similarly noted wi fi spot but that didn't work.
  7. Medman
    Offline

    Medman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same report here. I just got back from PR last night(with egg on my face).

    My wife recently went back to her iphone while I stayed with vzw. It WAS a running joke about her at&t coverage compared to vzw.......well, until we landed in PR that is. My droid turned into a paperweight:mad: other than for making calls, while her iphone had all bars and data. She was smiling from ear to ear everytime we had to use her phone for data. Uggh!!! From what I was told from vzw customer service is that I needed to activate something a week prior to the trip to piggy back on a data service and it would cost me .69 per minute! Yike's! I ended up limping along using the wi-fi at the hotel and other places. Lastly, that was the nail in the coffin for her about not considering coming back to Verizon.
  8. shinedown87
    Offline

    shinedown87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry that you were unable to get data coverage on your visit to Puerto Rico. I have been living in San Juan, Puerto Rico for about a year now, and data definitely does not work here on Verizon. It is really quite a shame considering AT&T, T-Mobile, and Sprint all have a working data connection.

    The majority of the time my phone displays "extended network." I can't even send an MMS picture message. Every once in a while my phone will kick into "roaming" and I can send pics and use data, but that doesn't happen very often.

    I have been dying to get a Droid, but will be unable to until I move back to the states. I am really disappointed in the Verizon service down here, considering there are so many of their customers that travel here from the States. I am stuck with a dumb-phone unless I switch carriers.
  9. garhow
    Offline

    garhow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no 3G in PR but there is 1X data coverage. You have to turn on data roaming. Even though you are using roaming you won't be charged roaming charges. A couple of years ago Verizon sold their PR operation to Claro. AT&T has better coverage in PR.
Search tags for this page
3g in puerto rico
,
data roaming charges verizon puerto rico
,
does verizon 3g work in puerto rico
,
does verizon work in puerto rico
,
my verizon razr not on 3g in puerto rico
,
puerto rico 3g verizon
,

verizon 3g in puerto rico

,

verizon 3g puerto rico

,
verizon coverage in puerto rico
,
verizon data coverage puerto rico
,
verizon data in puerto rico
,
verizon data puerto rico
,
verizon extended network puerto rico
,
verizon wireless data coverage in puerto rico
,
will my verizon phone work in puerto rico