Question ONLY for those who say android Does Not Need task killer...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Fonzz, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. Fonzz

    Fonzz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have had advanced task killer on my phone forever. I play a game called Raging Thunder online with my phone alot. The game freezes up often. I use the task killer to end it, otherwise, when I try to start it again, I get a blank screen or the frozen still frame it last displayed.
    After seeing so many members tell others it was not needed, I decided to un-install it. I have the new 2.2 and was still having it freeze occasionally so I thought I'd try it without the task killer on the phone. (I'm running my droid 1 stock BTW)
    So the first time the darn game freezes, I go to start it again, blank screen. :icon_evil:
    I look around for another way to end it without re-booting the phone. I go to settings, applications, running services and I don't see it there. I proceed to click on some things I see there but I don't kill anything cause the couple things I click on warn of bad things happening with services I do recognize, like weather etc...Then all of a sudden my phone is frozen; had to do a battery pull. I think that's only the 2nd time I ever been forced to do that in 9 months of ownership.
    Please enlighten me about another method that's equally as fast as clicking the old TK & ending the program, then promptly re-starting it to play again.
    I'm waiting for the answer that works. If I don't get an answer that works for me, I'm re-installing the task killer.
     
  2. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like your game is the problem, not Android and its memory management.
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Exactly. You build the app to the OS, not the other way around.
     
  4. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    This

    ten chars
     
  5. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea any game that freezes over and over with or without a task manager sounds like garbage or sega.

    freeball it baby, froyo does the work
     
  6. azpilot

    azpilot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Some podunk town, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    To me it sounds like the real issue is the game freezing to start with. Since I doubt the task killer is causing this but is being used to clean up after the fact, sounds like the game is the actual problem here.
     
  7. Fonzz

    Fonzz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thank you for your prompt comment, however I'm looking for a solution.
    The game stays even if it means I have to have a task killer.
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Good luck. I understand task killers are not working well with froyo.

    I'd email the developer.
     
  9. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like me trying to come to terms with the minute plus load times on Crash Bandicoot PS2 game. :D
     
  10. InfernoX51

    InfernoX51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could just get a task killer...nobody is prohibiting that.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I also have Raging Thunder on stock Froyo with no Task Killer. The game does not freeze and starts every time without a blank screen. Maybe some app is in conflict with it.
     
  12. christianpeso

    christianpeso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use a task killer. Nothing wrong with having one loaded up on your phone. Its just that most people constantly kill apps which there is no need for. I keep mine for that occasional app that I want to force close. Not to close every app every 10 minutes by hitting the widget.
     
Search tags for this page

does android need task killer

,

does cleaning the cache on phone erase my game progress

,

do i need to download a android task killer on s4