1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Question on switching from 4G to 3G and back

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by fireman00, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. fireman00
    Offline

    fireman00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got a RAZR Maxx that I love but have an issue... I live in a 3G area, on the way to work I hit a 4G area and the phone picks it up no problems. I do have a problem when 4G drops, the phone doesn't drop back to 3G - it drops completely and I get a message there is no internet connectivity. Is this normal?

    I've changed my network settings to use CDMA only and I don't lose network connection.
  2. maxxatdf
    Offline

    maxxatdf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly same issue and more.
    1. Phone won't switch from 4G to 3G. In the store, the tech manually turned off 4G to get it to connect to 3G. Of course, switching couldn't be tested in the store because 4G did not drop there.
    2. When WiFi is on but no known WiFi AP is connected, phone won't connect to 4G.

    The tech swapped out the SIM as a fix but that did not work. Will take it back to the store soon. Running unrooted, stock and latest ROM.
  3. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you wait 30 seconds or so data should come back on. If it doesn't you can get a data toggle from the market which might do it. Or, reboot the phone. I think I have only needed to reboot once to grab data again. My MAXX picks it up pretty quickly.

    Are you up to date on the OTA updates? The last one took care of some of these problems.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using DroidForums
  4. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    There's an app called "restart connections" in the market that could be helpful. It's very straightforward, it simply turns off all connections then restarts them. Could come in handy in that situation.

    Also know that that's unfortunately a problem in areas where 4G is weak or 4G drops completely. It's just not handled perfectly all the time.
  5. fireman00
    Offline

    fireman00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the recommendations... interesting that the problem area is around Bridgewater, NJ.... home of Verizon.
  6. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Another one that works which I use is Data Enabler Widget.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  7. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    Most of the Motorola Updates have cleared my switching issues, but if my phone gets stuck, I just wait. It usually comes back in 30 seconds to a minute. It sucks if I'm watching a NetFlix video, or streaming music, but it does return without having to close either app.
  8. marlonvps
    Offline

    marlonvps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's nothing overly good. Most people are using LTE switch. But there's definitely no toggle widget for it as of this moment.
  9. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    A quick fix to bring back data without an extra app is to toggle airplane mode off and then back on. Of course, you would hope you wouldn't have to do this too often.
  10. DarthKinetic
    Offline

    DarthKinetic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, isnt that called Airplane mode? ;)
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Yes :)

    Just a liitle quicker/easier!

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  12. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    With Airplane mode, I have to press the power button and scroll down. With a widget, I can just press the widget. It's all about the click man :p
Search tags for this page
android doesn't drop from 4g to 3g
,
droid razr maxx on off switch
,
how do i access 4g on my razr mxx
,
how do i switch my motorola razr m from 4g to 3g
,

how do you switch from 4g to 3g on a verizon razr maxx hd

,

how to flash my motorola droid razor m to 3g from 4g

,
how to switch off 4g on razor maxx
,
if my 4g service is bad can i switch my phone to 3g
,
phone wont switch to 3g just 4g or nothing
,

phone wont switch to 4g

,

razor max only 3g wont connect to 4g

,
switch off 4g
,
switching droid razzor m to gsm
,
why did verizon switch me to 3g from 4g?
,
why is verizon phone stuck in 3g in 4g zone