1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Question on new phone activation & development

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by aschmeer, May 22, 2010.

  1. aschmeer
    Offline

    aschmeer New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm looking into starting developing for the Android phone...

    While I don't own one yet, I'm looking at eBay to get a used phone.

    What I don't know is that if I don't own a phone and don't plan activating or connecting to a network, can I still develop on the phone? Can the phone be developed on without a sims chip installed?

    I appreciate your time, thanks!
  2. Jailbreakjim
    Offline

    Jailbreakjim New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    757
    If you root it before you activate it... maybe
  3. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I **think** the phone can be used without being activated on the VZW network, I know there's no SIM chip like GSM networks....

    Why get a phone and not activate it? Just use the development kit, which includes a phone emulator and everything.
  4. badtoy1986
    Offline

    badtoy1986 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes you can work it without activation