Question on Apps2SD

Discussion in 'Koush' started by titans, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I partitioned my stock SD card (was that a bad idea? Is the class version of the stock SD card not meet the recommended?) and enabled apps2sd. My question is how can I move already installed apps to the SD card, and where are they stored? thanks
     
  2. koush

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications.

    Choose and Application, then "Move"
     
  3. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hm there is no move choice for me...only choices I have are uninstall, clear cache, clear defaults,force stop
     
  4. koush

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to use ROM Manager to partition your SD card if you have not already.
     
  5. koush

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can only move applications that you installed in /data (via market or adb), not applications in/system. the apps in /system are the ones that came with the ROM.
     
  6. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I use your rom manager and I'm trying to move downloaded apps..goign to try a reboot now.
     
  7. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm for some reason new apps I install will be listed as stored on the SD card, so Apps2SD did work, but it's not giving me an option to move my existing apps..odd
     
  8. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure but would astro backup-uninstall-reinstall work with them?
    have not had any that show like you are saying so I don't know.
     
  9. Highflyin128

    Highflyin128 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0

    The only apps that can be moved are the ones installed AFTER you partitioned your SD card and AFTER you enabled Apps2SD.

    To check where the App is installed:

    Go to Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications.
    - Choose an application
    - In there you will see a category called Storage
    o under that you will see - - Install Location…………..SD Card.

    If it doesn’t say SD card then it’s installed on the phone
     
  10. rotordroid

    rotordroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Ratings:
    +2
    As an alternative:
    Using Root Explorer you can move them OR you can short-press on the apk in /data and choose INSTALL, it will then install them to your /sd-ext.
     
  11. yamaha83

    yamaha83 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the stock SD card ok to use for this? Are there any risks to doing this?
     
  12. rotordroid

    rotordroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I went out and bought a Class 4 and it's working great. I have read that there are folks using the stock Class 2 without problems.
     
  13. Highflyin128

    Highflyin128 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I used my stock SD card and no issues.
     
  14. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks rotodroid
     
  15. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks rotodroid for that alternative ..... Does anyone know where on the sdcard the apps are?
     
Search tags for this page

how to move apps using apps2sd

,
s4 sd2app
,
sbow me my choice of talk apps only
,
sd2apps