question for chevy

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by jasonppp, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. jasonppp
    Offline

    jasonppp Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey chevy buddy got a couple quick questions for ya
    where did you hide all boot init scripts at?
    i got compcache in and running by command i just cant get it to boot at boot up.
    i have edited a cpl init scripts got nowhere even made a 01Mod in /etc/init.d
    now i know your stand point about you adding compcache into your rom/kernels.
    But for those of us that want it where do we put the scipt to make it boot at startup? i am asking you because who else knows your rom better?

    thnx in advance
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey - as far as init scripts - anything you want to run at boot is /system/etc/install-recovery.sh - this gets run at every bootup. Here are the contents for my ROM, you'll notice the commands are commented out:


    #!/system/bin/sh

    #/system/bin/insmod /system/lib/modules/tun.ko
    #/system/bin/insmod /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko

    However - if you want tun.ko to load at bootup - remove the leading '#' and reboot

    :)
  3. jasonppp
    Offline

    jasonppp Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok thnx for the reply i had to adb pull to get full size the phone text editor sux lol


    #!/system/bin/sh

    #/system/bin/insmod /system/lib/modules/tun.ko
    #/system/bin/insmod /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko

    /system/bin/insmod /system/lib/modules/ramzswap.ko


    is this proper format or


    #!/system/bin/sh

    #/system/bin/insmod /system/lib/modules/tun.ko
    #/system/bin/insmod /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko

    /system/bin/compcache start


    both ways it still dont auto start
    or do i point at the etc/init.d module i made?

    what is tun.ko is that simular?

    and i am running a slayher kernel for some reason old trusty chevy has been laggy with my phone
    maybe i am just retarded but i cant make it start
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010
  4. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya as far as actually getting compcache to run/load - can't help you there as I don't use it. The .ko extension just says it is a kernel module - so loading any .ko file gives you the infrastructure to do extra stuff - but other things are needed to make it run
  5. jasonppp
    Offline

    jasonppp Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it runs i just cant get autostart in other roms would just edit /etc/init.d/ cpuia or cpuid adding /system/bin/compcache start
    gotta do it manually in terminal emulator it ran even before you and i talked.
    idk if there is even a big difference in the phone other then with updating the themes i have been doing. phone seems to boot back up faster with it enabled at boot. i thank you for the help you provided i guess i will just start manually every reboot thnx buddy. btw idk if you seen me mention this is an awesome rom. i almost dont wanna flash to another rom to update themes lol good job buddy thnx for the hard work and your valuable time.