Question about un-rooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by BJPalmer85, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. BJPalmer85
    Offline

    BJPalmer85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Phone keeps crapping out and Ive tried everything I know. Verizon said they will send me a droid 4 for free so im taking it.

    I have to send this one back so I am curious as to how I unroot. If i clear everything, return to non-safe mode, load my non-safe back up and then clear everything again, will that break root?

    B
  2. alowbman
    Offline

    alowbman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can either sbf or unroot through motofail. Sbf is the best way.
    1 person likes this.
  3. BJPalmer85
    Offline

    BJPalmer85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    ok, where do i get the SBF file?

    B
  4. alowbman
    Offline

    alowbman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What base are you on? If you are on .906 you can use the one-click method by Overlayer. You can find it linked in his posts in the development section.
  5. alowbman
    Offline

    alowbman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DROID 3 rom section I mean.
  6. BJPalmer85
    Offline

    BJPalmer85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Im on which ever was before .906 i believe. I got my D3 august last year and rooted and rom'd it with in a month. I have yet to do a VZW OTA, so i dont think im on .906

    B
  7. alowbman
    Offline

    alowbman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Overlayer has an .sbf for both. I believe both are posted in the DROID 3 rom section. Sorry I don't have the link.
  8. BJPalmer85
    Offline

    BJPalmer85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    ok. pretty sure i found everything i need.

    Im just a little lost, i thought I could just reverse the process that i did to root the phone because I thought pete's root tool (or whatever it is called) came with a 1-click unroot feature

    B
  9. alowbman
    Offline

    alowbman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pete's doesn't work with 906. Motofail has an unroot option if I recall correctly.
  10. BJPalmer85
    Offline

    BJPalmer85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    ok. I know the phone was on .890 before i rooted but the ROM i have installed is based off .906. So if i went back to non-safe mode and flashed my back up from when I rooted the phone would I be on .890 or .906?

    B
  11. alowbman
    Offline

    alowbman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your nonsafe would still be 890.
  12. BJPalmer85
    Offline

    BJPalmer85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    so then technically i could wipe, switch to non-safe, restore non-safe backup, use pete root tool to unroot, wipe again (just because) and then OTA to .906 and I would be back to completely stock

    B
  13. themib
    Online

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I bet update fails, but you might get lucky
    best bet is to SBF, and it only takes 10 mins or so