question about switching between roms

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by MonKENy, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. MonKENy
    Offline

    MonKENy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am running darkslide. If I want to go back to stock or switch to another rom as long as I nandroid and titanium backup first ill always be able to go back to exactly the point where I saved right?

    So when I load my backup it will be pixel for pixel what it was before I changed?
     
  2. qman66
    Offline

    qman66 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes thats correct
     
  3. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not really... you are asking for trouble if you do full Restores from backups made from different roms. Likewise, you can restore all apps and app data, but you shouldn't be doing full restores of System Data using Titanium Backup from different roms, especially Blur containing roms to Blurless roms.
     
  4. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    Yes, you can always restore a backup. It doesn't matter what rom you were on. That's what backups are for. A backup replaces all images on your phone to what it was when you made the backup. You can always wipe data/cache prior to restoring if you want to.
     
  5. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ah, yes, my bad. I misread the OP's question. I thought they were asking about restoring settings and homescreens when changing roms.
     
  6. MonKENy
    Offline

    MonKENy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks. Yeah i would go clean before each restore.

    rolling along on the wheels of x'dom