Question About Smoked Glass ROM???

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by dbu, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. dbu
    Offline

    dbu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    So I installed this ROM and I must say it looks and seems to function nicely, I just have one issue. When I hit the home button it doesn't return to the center page which I thought was the default home screen, it goes one screen left of center. Is there a way I can change that? Please advise. Thanks in advance.
  2. Royal2000H
    Offline

    Royal2000H New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I went to Sholes (with the smoked glass theme)... I realized I was upgraded from 3 homescreens to 5. And my middle moved over to the left. IE, it used to be []
    [*][]..
    * being the main home screen. and then it looked like [][^]
    [*][][]... * being the main homescreen, but the apps from the old star were on ^ (they didn't move). So just move them over to the right.
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Yeah I've installed ROMs that had the home screen on the one to the left of the middle screen, I just moved them over..

    ALTHOUGH....when he hits the home button, it should NOT take him to the screen to the left of the middle screen....even if thats where his home apps are, it should always take you to the middle screen when you press the Home button
  4. thegeckoj
    Offline

    thegeckoj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    smoked 4.0 did this exact thing to me too. and this was from a fresh nandroid install.
  5. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I just installed it to see for myself.

    Yes the home screen is one left of center.

    Yes this isn't right.

    Yes, apparently AdamZ knows and is working on a fix.

    We will see how long this ROM lasts...I am really trying to leave it all alone until a 2.1 is released and we get some new 2.1 based ROM's.

    Gotta say I like the Launcher2 on Smoked.....Kinda FC every now and then but it is sexy..
  6. ska8r411
    Offline

    ska8r411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami1683's Attic
    Lmao just drag all your app icons over to the correct screen
    .
  7. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    If using 2.1 laucher the default home screen is #2, but if using 2.0.1 home the default is #3.
  8. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    so im sure im going to get hell for asking this, but if i were to download sholes, would this be considerd rooting my phone?
  9. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    How did that post end up in this thread??

    jk

    Downloading the SMUpdater would not be rooting.

    Downloading and running SMUpdater would then root your phone.
  10. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    its okay man, i know its prob a dumb question, but im a noob, and i have seearched. so basicly if i do download and runn this then i will have rooted my phone? dang that sucks, bc i wish i didnt have to root my phone to get this, bc im scared of bricking my phone and then being screwed
  11. pthance
    Offline

    pthance New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You won't brick your phone, once you have root installed to the phone (which is pushed like an official OTA update) the first thing the updater adds to your sytem is a recovery image. This means if ANYTHING goes wrong in the installation process of the ROM, you can boot into recovery mode (power on the device and hold "x" on the physical keyboard) and restore from a nandroid backup (these are backups created on demand by you as well as automatically before installing and custom ROM). The whole system is very safe....no one has bricked their phone.