1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Question About Scripts

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by phaze3131, May 3, 2010.

  1. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys I am just wondering the steps I need to take to run the "scripts" on peter has listed there like these:

    OPTIONAL Scripts: (credit to Pete)
    -blockads (blocks adds in apps & browser)
    -cpuinfo (shows [COLOR=#812528 ! important][COLOR=#812528 ! important]cpu[/COLOR][/COLOR] info)
    -droidboot (installs my custom boot animation *Decreases boot time*)
    -fixperm (use if script permissions are faulty)

    Thanks all!
  2. droiduser5
    Offline

    droiduser5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Granted you are rooted and running pete's ROM, open up a terminal emulator or adb terminal on your computer and type:
    ...etc. Aka just type the script with no hyphen. Any new session needs to start with the line:
  3. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    awesome thank you alot
  4. mikecolorama
    Offline

    mikecolorama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Valinda, CA
    is there somewhere where i can get a tut on how to use the script from BB. i've never tried it before, so any assistance would be appreciated. thanks
  5. AndyR83
    Offline

    AndyR83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed BB and am attempting to run scripts but every time I type one I get "permission denied." This is after having doen su first and the command prompt is a # not a $. Any ideas?
  6. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you're opening up terminal emulator, and typing "su". What are you typing after that, exactly, and what is the exact error message?
  7. AndyR83
    Offline

    AndyR83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's a transcript:
    =============

    export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
    $ $ su
    # blockads
    blockads: permission denied
    # droidboot
    droidboot: permission denied
  8. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    aren't you supposed to put the system into read/write after the su command?

    When I have run scripts (VERY few times) it has gone something like this

    su
    sysrw
    **script you are trying to run**

    sysro (to put it back to read-only)
  9. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The script does the /system remounting for you:

    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    # blockads - Blocks ads in Browser and Apps
    
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    busybox mv /system/xbin/hostsblock /system/etc/hosts
    busybox cp /system/etc/hosts /system/xbin
    busybox mv /system/xbin/hosts /system/xbin/hostsblock
    mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    echo 'Ads have been blocked'
    echo 'Bugless Beast by Pete'
    
    For the life of me, I can't figure out what on EARTH this script is supposed to be doing. The idea behind adblocking is that you replace the system hostfile (/system/etc/hosts) with one that remaps known ad servers with localhost (127.0.0.1).

    This adblock script moves /system/xbin/hostsblock to replace /system/etc/hosts, then copies that SAME FILE to the /system/xbin directory, then MOVES THE SAME FILE BACK to /system/xbin/hostsblock.

    Showads is just as cryptic - it moves a "hostsshow" file to /system/etc/hosts, then copies it to /system/xbin, then copies it back to hostsshow again.

    Why not just one single cp command that copies hostsblock or hostsshow to /system/etc/hosts?
  10. AndyR83
    Offline

    AndyR83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    # sysrw
    sysrw: not found
    #