Question about sbf'ing?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global Development' started by CowboyCombat, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. CowboyCombat

    CowboyCombat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi again. I feel bad posting so often but hey just trying to learn. :) So I have been trying to figure out sbf'ing, and first off what is the exact method/order in which the process should take place? And also why does the official Droid 2 Global sbf file 2.4.29 details state that it is a 4G Platform when clearly this is not a 4G device? Please help a.s.a.p. so I can move along.dancedroid
     
  2. chevytough

    chevytough Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    not much i can help u with other than i flashed the global sbf last night and worked just fine.
     
  3. chrisl20

    chrisl20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need, tbh's d2g sbf file(downloaded on pc). Rsdlite 4.9(on pc also). Correct drivers for your phone, also on pc... plug in your phone to ur computer, put it into bootloader mode...restarting while holding up arrow(hardkey on slideout keyboard) or by holding both the up and down volume keys(on side of phone) and THEN power ur phone on...load the sbf file in rsdlite from wherever u downloaded it to...hit start in rsdlite, and let it do its thing....afterwords it will say, "manually power up phone" unplug ur phone, but leave rsdlite running....restart your phone nto bootloader mode again, and plug it back in...shortly after it will finish and you can unplug your phone safely, do so...and restart your phone again, this time holding the X button on your slide out keyboard, then the search button (magnifying glass to the left of@ sign on keyboard) wipe the cache and start it up(may have to do factory wipe and cache, don't remember)..the initial startup may take a min...but you will have to reactivate the phone to your service provider...if its verizon* 228 and hit 1 after u connect....if it brings up "hit one to make a collect call, 2 to put minutes on w credit card" pull your battery for 30 seconds, then start it up and call activation again, hope this helps man...sorry if its too late...but, there's a ton of threads on this, so...someone probly lead u n the right direction..
     
  4. CowboyCombat

    CowboyCombat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry still waiting on the answer about the 4G Device Platform thing in RSD Lite. I dont wanna sbf my phone with the wrong file. And also why am I being told that RSD has to run in administartor mode? I hate asking so many questions but considering I dont have the deep pockets to get another device I want to make sure I'm getting all the right info and the right steps.
     
  5. sid_wisc

    sid_wisc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    chrisl20 gave you the whole outline as how to do the SBF... this is all that is required.

    And to answer your question about 4G, D2G is not currently a 4G phone as we all know and I do not believe that it could be used as one (don't count on it though). i believe RSD has to be run as an administrator on your computer that is higher than XP (vista or win7) probably because you are changing something significant on your phone and Motorola (where the RSD is from) wants you to be doing it in that mode.

    By the way all the info and the files that are required could be found here or here
     
  6. kickyindahead

    kickyindahead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    just like Sid says .. use this link

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-global-hacks/112313-official-d2g-sbf-tbh.html

    dont worry about it saying 4g device platform .. ive sbf'd my phone countless times and it says the same thing on my rsd screen .. my phone works flawlessly ... most o the time :icon_eek:
     
  7. wildbill86

    wildbill86 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if I'm running windows xp I just simply open rsd lite. Nothing special?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  8. chrisl20

    chrisl20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct....open it...find the sbf file, plug ur phone in...make sure its in bootloader mode...hit start after making sure ur laptop and phone r connected and talking...and wait...and wait....and follow the rest of my instructions up top
     
  9. wildbill86

    wildbill86 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, one more question, do i just load the 251 megabyte zipped sbf folder into rsd lite, or do i unzipp in windows, and load the 457 Mb .sbf file?
     
  10. sid_wisc

    sid_wisc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    unzip the folder and just use the SBF file...
    Once again an overview of the whole thing.....
    *Make sure to have the latest drivers from motorola
    *Run RSD as an administrator on your computer
    *start the phone in boot menu (turn off phone, start it while pressing volume button up and down togather 'OR' start while holding the top arrow on physical keyboard)
    *open RSD make sure that your phone shows in there
    *click ... button and select the unzipped sbf file
    *click start and let it do what it is supposed to do.
    * restart phone after the process is done while holding the X button on physical keyboard and then press magnifying glass on the physical keyboard
    *wipe data and cache
    ***** YOU ARE NOW IN 'OUT OF THE BOX' CONDITION!!!!!!!

    n'JOY
     
  11. keolawills

    keolawills Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The op says you need the correct drivers for your phone as well, but never says anything about installing them. Does it automatically install them for you if you download them, or are they included in the sbf.zip?

    sent from my FENOMENAL D2G
     
  12. chrisl20

    chrisl20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Ratings:
    +0
    The drivers can be found on the motorola website...or by downloading pdanet on ur pc and phone...that's what I use...its quickest and hasn't failed me...motorola has too much b.s. on their website and honestly, everytime I've tried downloading from there I've had nothing but trouble
     
Search tags for this page

how do you flash an sbf without wipe