Question about Safestrap and returning to stock

Luvmyrazr

Reaction score
Hello All.

I'm somewhat new to rooting phones, but I'm pretty computer savvy I do have a question.

I recently rooted my old droid RAZR using the RAZR Blade method from the cyanogen site and also had Cyanogen 10 (I think) running smoothly everything went well and without a hitch. That is until the charger port on my phone went bad, and I had to send it back to Motorola and get a warranty replacement phone. After I went back to my stock rom and uninstalled Safestrap the phone bricked or soft bricked it would show the red "M" logo then it would either just go to a black screen or it would show the dead android icon (On it's back with a red "!" symbol) I tried to do a factory reset it said it wiped the catch and formatted, but it would still not boot. After googling my problems I came across Droid RAZR utilities 1.8 ICS and followed the instructions everything went well but I kept getting a failed message when it was trying to write the boot section. So basically I was unable to restore my old RAZR, and it's now on the way to Motorola (I hope they don't charge me for the phone).

Can anyone point out where I went wrong because I have a new RAZR and really want to go back to Cyanogen but I'm afraid of repeating the same problem with my new phone should I have to sent it in for repair or replacement.

MotoXGirl

Reaction score
Most Motorola phones support RSD Lite, which is a factory reload tool. Basically it allows you to go into boot loader mode and flash a factory image. The factory images usually include the stock recovery and all of the system files. This may be an option for the Razr (since its Motorola).

OP
L

Luvmyrazr

Reaction score