Question about rooting with a Mac

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by OneTenderRebel, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    I am running the latest Mac OS and I noticed Mac's don't seem to play entirely nice with some of the processes in rooting. I am curious to see the success level people have in rooting with a Mac. I can do all the updates manually and stuff like that but I have finally decided to give rooting a try and a trying to get back to 2.0.1 but my mac wont install rsdlite, what can I do to fix this?
     
  2. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Get a real operating system. Just kidding, or am I? :p

    Seriously though you are kinda stuck unless you can get to a Windows PC to flash it. There have been reports of people getting RSDLite to work through WINE or something along those lines, but a lot of people have said it doesn't work either. Heck a lot of Windows computers have some problems with it.
     
  3. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Yeah that's what I have been hearing too. I have an old sony windows xp laptop, but the thing is a PITA to use sometimes.
     
  4. Dandroid247

    Dandroid247 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dunno anything about rsd but i went the droidroothelper route and had no issues at all. The only thing I have found that the mac has a hard time with is file compression ratios so if you want to unzip something to edit, say, icons and then try to compress the file back down using the stock mac option the zip files can't be read by the droid.
     
  5. voydas

    voydas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    im mas, havent used rsdlite but everything else has been very very simple. just pico .profile and everything through terminal -- cake
     
  6. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    hmm would you mind elaborating a little more on this.
     
  7. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had no problems with doing anything using my mac. i have made changes to xml files and .apk files and changed things up to how I want them i use keka to compress the files before i push them back onto my phone using adb. If you have any specific questions please feel free to ask. and i will help if I can.
     
  8. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    I am trying to get back to 2.0.1 obviously rsd lite won't work on a mac so what can I use that would be comparable to that to flash back?
     
  9. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you already have the updated baseband? What recovery image are you using?
     
  10. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    right now I am at 2.1 stock looking for the next step in getting back to 2.0.1 so I can root and go from there.
     
  11. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    I am new to rooting so this is all a first time process for me, but I am pretty good with stuff like this and am a fast learner so I am trying to pick it all up as I go but seem to be running into problems with my mac preventing me. I have read several people now saying they don't have issues in rooting with the mac so I am looking to get as much info out of them as they will let me.
     
  12. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Everyone seems to be missing out on the key factor, that RSDLite doesn't work on Mac computers. Without it, there is no way to flash the phone to 2.01 or whatever to obtain root. Unless someone knows some trick to get it to work on a Mac that I have never seen, or heard about. I have seen multiple threads where people had a Mac or Linux OS and couldn't get RSDLite to work though. They tried all sorts of tricks (such as WINE), all failed. Heck even though the program was intended for Windows, it still is kind of a pain to get it to work for it.

    So if you don't have access to a Windows computer and are on the official 2.1, as far as I know you are kinda stuck. I definitely could be wrong though, and there is an easy trick out there. Unless a way to root 2.1 comes out, that doesn't involve flashing an sbf.

    Everything else though is definitely doable on a Mac. Truthfully to do most things you won't even need a PC at all. You can obtain root, install a custom recovery, and flash a ROM among many other things without ever touching a computer of any sort.
     
  13. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    yeah exactly what I have been hearing. I figured if I couldn't get rsd lite to work to flash back to 2.0.1 I wasn't going to be able to get root access. I do have an old Sony Vaio running windows xp but that thing is on it's last leg or close to it.
     
  14. justreboot

    justreboot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central NJ-USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm using vmware on my macbook / i have both xp and 7 installed in diff virtual machines ... 7 works better :) Makes it easy to drop and drag, etc... I used 7 to downgrade via RSDLite.
     
  15. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    does this require getting your hands on the windows 7 software? How exactly does it work?
     
Search tags for this page
mac root
,
rooting with mac
,

rsdlite for mac