Question about rooting from a noob...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by negropy, Dec 20, 2010.

  1. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I apologize if this has been asked and answered, but if I root, can I just delete bloatware and keep stock? Also, is there anyway to just load pure undefiled by moto/verizon Froyo, or GB for that matter, in my R2D2? I keep seeing this custom roms, but is it possible to load google's release as google intended it to be? Thanks for your answers!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  2. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You will need something based on the moto version as a rom. You can get vanilla versions which have been mostly built from aosp or had moto items replaced with google versions. Moto was hard at work to lock this phone tight. Double check about using none 2.4.5 roms though and seeing about an sbf to save yourself if something goes horribly wrong. Research extensively and then some more.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You should be able to root and delete bloat, but the problem with that is you'll be unable to get any update without putting the bloat back.
  4. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Indeed! May I suggest getting Titanium Backup Pro and freezing the bloat instead? Frozen, they will no longer run. If an update comes out, you can thaw them back out and update.



    DroidForums junkie!!
  5. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you guys, I'll do some research. So if I delete crap like amazon mp3 and that kind of thing I might not get updates? This is a little over me :)

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. gunz.jones
    Offline

    gunz.jones New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you delete bloatware, it will not update because moto is trying to slap your hand for deleting all of their hard work to slow down your phone. Make backups.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    what i alway sdo is root it, and then make a plain backup before you touch ANYTHING. you will always have somewhere to go back to. naem the nandroid file "stock" or something like that.


    always good to have a backup plan
  8. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'll do some research and start experimenting... Do these one click root programs work for R2 droids?

    Sent from my R2D2
  9. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @gunz... That's so wrong, I really hate motoblur. I would really like to try pure android. Guess it will never happen with verizon

    Sent from my R2D2
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Install ADW and see what you think in about thirty seconds of playing with it after you have some basic stuff set back up.

    You may thank me later. Small bills, please, crack isn't that expensive. ;)
  11. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    yea get TB when you root and freeze it all dont delete it
  12. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the guidance guys!

    Sent from my R2D2